We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room, nice hosts, problematic access”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ami Chenin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ami Chenin
Ranked #9 of 23 Saumur B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely room, nice hosts, problematic access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and accepted the home cooked dinner for1 of them. But1st one had to get there and the access road is rather difficult, so don't try it if you have a large car! It was stressful parking in the rather narrow spot after a narrow steep short road. The location was otherwise peaceful, the large room clean, the bathroom renovated and quite nice. The old house and cave were quite charming.We slept well and the breakfast was delicious with wonderful breads, home made jam and baked goods. We had dinner with another set of guests, unfortunately we did not really take advantage of the wonderful wines the host had on offer. Xavier was certainly an expert at it. The food was nice and a good way of trying some typical French foods one may not order in restaurants. The hosts English was as limited as my French but we managed to communicate, they were indeed helpful. There was no Internet availability.

Room Tip: Our large room for 3 called Aunis, was certainly more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug21stC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    15
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked this through TripAdvisor on grounds of location, price and charm and I was not disappointed (and neither was my wife) when we stayed earlier this year. France and Xavier's home is truly beautiful and they are wonderful hosts who were patient as I struggled with my French and made us feel at home. We enjoyed drinks outdoors with them and felt as if we'd dropped in on a couple of friends.
We also enjoyed a delightful meal served outdoors in the evening sunshine. I can't tell you how much my wife was impressed with my choice.
Part of the charm is in finding Ami Chenin and any difficulties you might have are outweighed by what you find when you get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesterChurchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely "bed & breakfast," located in the Loire Valley, immensely. The owners, France and Xavier, are welcoming, charming -- the perfect hosts. The old stone house (complete with its own wine cave) is beautifully restored and decorated. We took advantage of the fact that a table d'hotes is offered, which turned out to be one of the best dinners we had during our 12 day trip to France; delicious and convivial. I booked our room (Aunis -- very spacious, unique in decor, and reasonably priced) through their website (www.amichenin.com). If you are traveling in this region, we recommend staying here -- we did not want to leave!

  • Liked — the warm welcome and beautiful house
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledak6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw this beautiful home. And then I saw the room - it was magnificent, very large and comfortable. Actually it was more a suite than room - a family of 4 could stay there and still have room to move around. I have a love for homes 3-5 hundred years old and this one did not disappoint. Breakfast outside in the garden was icing on the cake. I would love to return to this region - so much to see. One day just isn't enough.

  • Liked — One of the loveliest places I've stayed in.
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2006

A big thank you to the last reviewer. We just came back from an all too brief stay at Ami Chenin. Though we didn't have the room they spoke of, our room was also lovely. The location was great. The surroundings beautiful. Our hosts couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We also had a delicious dinner dinner there, which I would highly recommend, especially if you are there multiple nights (Saumur also has a number of gastronomique restaurants to choose from). Definitely the best Chambre d'hote of our 10 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labuscadora16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Julie, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2006

Excellent Bed and Breakfast, well located if you are planning to vist the Loire region.
What a pleasant surprise! 400 year old house, super big room, we got the room Aunis with the Baldaquin bed, we were impressed. Private entrance to our room, big superb bathroom, newly renovated. Super comfortable, very romantic. Great breakfast, friendly owner. Our favorite!

Helpful?
9 Thank Julie6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
4.9 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ami Chenin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ami Chenin

Property: Ami Chenin
Address: 37 rue de Beaulieu, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ami Chenin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing