We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and table d'hôte!”
Review of Ami Chenin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ami Chenin
Ranked #9 of 23 Saumur B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and table d'hôte!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed one night at France & Xavier's B&B. They were very hospitable and helpful. They also have a great table d'hôte, serving a 3 course meal at reasonable prices with a local wine list. The only downside is the state of the room can use a bit of update. The bed wasn't the most comfortable. For a no-frills stay, this is a good option when visiting the Loire valley. The rooms have a view on the Loire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    15
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

While cycling in France we stay one night at Ami Chenin. The large room with fireplace was very comfortable. Our hosts were very helpful with locating restaurants and even had a discount coupon for us to visit a local wine cave. Which we were not aware was in the area ... made the stop and were glad we did!! Would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone traveling in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Ami Chenin is certainly out of the way, but that's why I chose it. We had a little difficulty finding it, and were nervous on the steep hillside, but it is where people live, and is entirely manageable. My only caution is to look for the sign that is at the bottom of the hill, and take your time. Once there, we were beyond delighted; it is comfortable, spacious, and gorgeous. As well, for those who can't shut off their devices (like my kids) they now have WiFi.
Xavier and France were welcoming and helpful, and served the most delicious meal we had during our entire trip, (That was the unanimous family review. I've eaten fancier and more adventuresome food, but not better.) The wine list there is fabulous as well, excellent, reasonably priced choices.
Also, for runners, the hills are a fabulous challenge and there is a beautiful level trail just off the road below, ask Xavier for directions. He also suggested that we visit the nearby Abbey Fontevraud, very much appreciated, it was one of the highlights of our trip.I highly recommend this B&B to travelers who are looking for the beyond the ordinary and real experience of France.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23AMLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

For the Americans: We drove around for two hours in the dark and could not find this B&B. We had to call and be picked up to follow to the B&B. I was so exhausted and I missed out on dinner completely that night in France! They do not lock the front doors, they do not have locks on your room doors... Breakfast is bread and water, juice, or coffee. There is no phone, TV, alarm clock, iron board, rapid boil tea pot, or computer at this B&B. They did not turn on the heat it was 42 degrees out side! I slept with the covers pulled up over my head! I had allergies all night because they do not dust their antiques in the rooms. They do not clean the room while you are staying in it either. There are three tight parking places on a cliff. The road that leads up the mountain is one lane and curves back on its self and has a blind sharp right turn. It was difficult and dangerous to get up to the inn and then parking was difficult. It was cute and very French but has no ammenities. The owners were pleasant yet he was controlling. I don't know what to think when an inn keeper slaps you on your hand when you ask for your purse and personal items back?... After holding on to them while I parked my car. I was creeped out I should not have given into coersion to hand them over... What was I thinking?. I would not go back to this B&B. This town has a nice Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We made a stopover in Saumur for one night only, but when we saw the place, we regretted we hadnt planned to stay longer. The rooms are incredibly romantic, yet very comfortable with modern facilities. The hosts made us very warm welcome although we arrived pretty late in the evening, and later on helped us to plan our sightseeing for the next days with valuable tips. In the garden we had lovely French breakfast with selection of fresh breads, delicious jams and much more. We would not hesitate to return there if we pass by the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and accepted the home cooked dinner for1 of them. But1st one had to get there and the access road is rather difficult, so don't try it if you have a large car! It was stressful parking in the rather narrow spot after a narrow steep short road. The location was otherwise peaceful, the large room clean, the bathroom renovated and quite nice. The old house and cave were quite charming.We slept well and the breakfast was delicious with wonderful breads, home made jam and baked goods. We had dinner with another set of guests, unfortunately we did not really take advantage of the wonderful wines the host had on offer. Xavier was certainly an expert at it. The food was nice and a good way of trying some typical French foods one may not order in restaurants. The hosts English was as limited as my French but we managed to communicate, they were indeed helpful. There was no Internet availability.

Room Tip: Our large room for 3 called Aunis, was certainly more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug21stC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked this through TripAdvisor on grounds of location, price and charm and I was not disappointed (and neither was my wife) when we stayed earlier this year. France and Xavier's home is truly beautiful and they are wonderful hosts who were patient as I struggled with my French and made us feel at home. We enjoyed drinks outdoors with them and felt as if we'd dropped in on a couple of friends.
We also enjoyed a delightful meal served outdoors in the evening sunshine. I can't tell you how much my wife was impressed with my choice.
Part of the charm is in finding Ami Chenin and any difficulties you might have are outweighed by what you find when you get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesterChurchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#3 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
4.9 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ami Chenin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ami Chenin

Property: Ami Chenin
Address: 37 rue de Beaulieu, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ami Chenin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing