We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trop Bien” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alcyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alcyon
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trop Bien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

perfect welcome
The kindness of the lady and the gentleman is impressive
we suggest to visit right place.
very well situated for cycling close to the center of Saumur and castel
I recommend and will be sure to recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gph44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
36
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was staying here with family and we occupied 3 rooms. All 3 rooms had views over to the castle. The rooms were clean and spacious, there was a kettle which is rare in French hotels. The breakfast was very varied with cereals, croissants, different breads, with a variety of extras and at 8€ worth it. Loved the fact there was free private parking in an enclosed area (to book when you reserve your room as parking is limited). Merièle & Stephane are such helpful and friendly hosts.
We stayed through the very hot weather early August. Two of our rooms were on the top floor with no air conditioning so we needed to have our windows open therefore we were bothered by some freight trains through the night and this is the only reason why I have not given this establishment 5 stars. There is a ceiling fan and there are double double-glazed windows so at any other time of the year this would not be a problem. Also loved the pre-dinner and digestive walks to and from the town centre on a nightime.

Room Tip: Lovely views over to the castle from the end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarchFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A very pleasant hotel near the railway station (not noisy). Looks a disaster from the outside, but inside very well maintained and impeccably clean. Most helpful and friendly host made us feel very welcome. 10 minutes walk to the banks of the glorious Loire. Room tiny but functional and clean. Did not have breakfast, but saw what was on offer. Looked fabulous. Highly recommended, inexpensive accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This little hotel is ideal for a local area base or stopover at Saumur. The owners are more than friendly and our room had recently been smartly refurbished and was clean and bright. The City Centre is a ten minute walk and has many excellent restaurants and some lovely old areas. The walk is across two big bridges over Le Loire and is a pleasure in itself. The Alcyion is right on the main railway line and some trains to pass at night. This did not bother us but is worth knowing about.

Room Tip: Easy to find as right by the bridge over Le Loire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadfly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed just one night on route but would be very happy to return on the next visit. Owners were very warm and welcoming. Rooms very pleasant, spotlessly clean and quiet (double glazed) with very comfortable beds. The hotel was also inexpensive and has the added bonus of secure parking. Near the railway station on the north bank of the Loire, the city centre
is just a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast fresh and enjoyable, and a very reasonable price. Very happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Although initially concerned regarding noise as the hotel is close to the station we had no reason to be, the rooms are very quiet with double windows. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Secure parking was excellent and a very welcomed to keep the motorcycle secure. A short walk, 15 mins, gets you into the old part of Samur. Well worth a visit and the Alcyon is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDTewks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This was the final hotel on our Loire cycling tour arranged by bicyclette-verte and the best of the tour. The rooms were recently refurbished and clean, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast hearty. All that topped off by very warm and homely hosts. My only problem would be the noise from the nearby train tracks which is not too severe given that the owners installed an extra window to block out the sound. The location is good but not prime - being a ten minute walk from the centre and two minutes walk from the train station. Overall I recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nofoetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#10 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcyon

Property: Hotel Alcyon
Address: 2 bis rue de Rouen, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcyon 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the region Pays de la Loire, Alcyon hotel is just 250 meters from the Loire. We offer contemporary rooms, some with views of the castle. A 10 minutes walk from the city center and near the train station, we are located on the North Arm of the Loire, opposite the castle Saumur.Reparties on three levels, Our 16 rooms are all equipped with a double soundproofing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing