We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Return Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
LEEDS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Return Trip”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Thia is the second year we have stayed at this hotel and were not disappointed. The location must be surely the best in town standing on the bank of the Loire overlooking the town and chateau. Although we only had a standard room which was at the rear of the hotel it did not bother us as we tend to "only sleep" at the hotel and these rooms are very quiet. The room was well appointed with everything you would expect from a Mercure hotel including tea and coffee facilities. The executive rooms are front facing overlooking the river and some have a small balcony. Breakfast in the dining room with a window seat overlooking the river and chateau more than made up for a room at the back. The breakfast although, like most French hotels is not cheap is substantial and above average for a 3 star hotel. Would definitely recommend the Mercure if you like chateaux, rivers and wine country.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    371
    81
    18
    7
See reviews for
88
459
32
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel is of a pretty high standard. Good bathroom (excellent shower), comfy beds and clean. Lovely views of the river and chateau opposite (if you ask for a riverside room). Easy to park outside on the street (free), and a short 10minute walk across the bridge to central Saumur. It doesn't have a restaurant and the bar is v v quiet; so you need to head out for the evening. But its location means that's easy.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a riverside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights. The room was quiet, small but very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bar area overlooked the river Loire directly opposite the chateau and was a lovely place to sit and enjoy the view. The breakfast was excellent, very wide choice and everything you could want. The staff were very friendly. There was no restaurant for an evening meal but the short scenic walk into Saumur town centre was no trouble and we found nice restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophile043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We arrived on the motorbike after a long day and were made very welcome in this modern hotel located right on the banks of the Loire. We tried out our French, as always, but had a 'back-up' in that most of the staff spoke excellent English.
The room was a good size and the air conditioning was not obtrusive but necessary during our stay!
We had booked a room with a view of the river and the Chateau on the opposite bank and were not dissappointed. The hotel's location on the opposite bank to the town means it is about a 10 - 15 minute walk to most of the restaurants, but it is a very pleasant walk across the bridge.
Breakast was very good but you need to be aware that the restaurant serves breakfast only, not evening meals.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Chateau or you will kick yourself ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samphireskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2011

we recently stayed in the Mercure Saumur in a room directly overlooking the Chateau and Saumur town. The hotel has spacious well fitted bedrooms(including tea and coffee making facilities)and a separate bathroom and w.c.It is a short walk across the River Bridge to Saumur centre and its good selection of restaurants. The Hotel has parking in front of reception and additional facilities in a secure lot 1 minute from receptio. We found the staff pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Situated about 5-10 minutes walk from Saumur town centre, this hotel is in a lovely calm area with a stunning view of the chateau, and the Loire river. The hotel is clean, room very comfortable, nice bathroom. Good range of different food available at buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Petite_Irlandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres
Chateau de Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Property: Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing