We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop en route.”

Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    365
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
88
450
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saumur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Avoid this hotel. The staff at the front desk give misleading information. The internet is a joke 30kb/s basic, upgrade to broadband to waste your money. The staff actually started shouting and screaming across the front desk. Completely unprofessional and a waste of money. Told could leave our bags to pick up after finishing work. Then the manager said we had to pay for a second night. Could not get away from these very rude arrogant staff fast enough. If you are in for hotel experiences this is the place to visit to make every other hotel seem like a 5 star.

Room Tip: Do not stay if you want the internet to work and want a relaxed atmosphere. Communication is terrib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Gérant at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Sir,

According to your comments, I have pleasure to reply to your severe critical reflecting in all points your behaviour at the front desk on your departure.
It seems to me that the word “crapest internet” is really rude and insulting since you got free internet access on high speed up in your Suite room…waste of money? I am quite surprised about this lie…
You blamed the receptionist for giving you misleading information…Did you take any time to listen to her as you did with me on your departure? It just reflects your rude and arrogant behaviour.
You also said that we were shouting and screaming which is totally wrong. You took your anger on us at the front desk in the way we could not even say a word.
Please note, Dear Sir, that in all hotels when you wish to shorten your stay, the less you can do is to notify the reception about your intention. You left the hotel around 10am for work, leaving all your luggages in your Suite room and went back at 18.30pm announcing you wanted to check out. It was not correct of you to do so that is the reason why you have been charged for the night and you got angry.
I am quite surprised that an advised traveller as you pretend to be, could have this behaviour towards us, no respect, no politeness. I am unfortunately convinced that you have to idea how to behave. It would have been so easy to advise the reception earlier by phone you changed your plan and you had to shorten your stay.
I do usually not reply to threatening words but you carried them out with this comment.
I am also very surprised that the Suite room at such a great discount was not suitable. What a pity you did not appreciate the excellent location on the bank of the Loire river and the stunning view on the chateau opposite, all the facilities and our new spa center fully equipped.
Nevertheless, I wish you good holidays in France and are looking forward to seeing you again in Saumur.
Yours Faithfully,
R.Bertrand/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALRESFORD
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Very calm place in excellent location on the bank of the Loire, with view of Saumur Chateau over the river (from the more expensive rooms on that side.) Garage under the hotel with lift into hotel (pay extra for this) is very handy. Enjoyed our stay here and will return.
Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_the_angler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We booked a room facing the river and the view was excellent.
The hotel is very smartly decorated throughout and has free parking about 70 metres round the corner.
For an excellent evening meal, go to La Pierre Chaude on the far side of the main road which crosses the bridge - it is about 150 metres from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul&Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Thia is the second year we have stayed at this hotel and were not disappointed. The location must be surely the best in town standing on the bank of the Loire overlooking the town and chateau. Although we only had a standard room which was at the rear of the hotel it did not bother us as we tend to "only sleep" at the hotel and these rooms are very quiet. The room was well appointed with everything you would expect from a Mercure hotel including tea and coffee facilities. The executive rooms are front facing overlooking the river and some have a small balcony. Breakfast in the dining room with a window seat overlooking the river and chateau more than made up for a room at the back. The breakfast although, like most French hotels is not cheap is substantial and above average for a 3 star hotel. Would definitely recommend the Mercure if you like chateaux, rivers and wine country.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Property: Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing