We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The air con is perfect, the rooms are HUGE with comfortable beds, the complimentary jacuzzi was lovely (although the 'pants' you are given to wear whilst in the jacuzzi are NOT lovely!) Apart from the maid walking in at 9am when we were still asleep, and the breakfasts being expensive, the whole hotel cannot be faulted.
There is NO restaurant in the hotel for evening meals, although they will do room service at night. They don't have a pool, but the jacuzzi is excellent

Room Tip: Ensure you use your do not distub sign on your bedroom door to stop over zealous maids coming in ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment which encourages us in our quality.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    358
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
87
440
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcueil, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

the hotel is located very close from city center, just cross the bridge !
Very nice room with view over the Loire and the castle, comfortable king size bed and great breakfast with nice view over the Loire !!!
Be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank niko75012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment which encourages us in our quality.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Really good swift check-in, pleasant reception staff, thank you. Parked in the secure car park and easily brought bags up from lift that took you into hotel from carkpark. Booked privilege room with a balcony and fantastic view over the Loire river and the Chateau, could have stayed on the balcony all evening. Great sized room with amazing memory pillows. Other member of family had superior room which also had a great view over Loire River, would definately book these rooms again, the view made the hotel. Short comfortable walk over bridge into twon with lots of cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: River/Chateau view a definite choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHopperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment which encourages us in our quality.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hello again Folks,

Please find my review of the Mercure Hotel, Saumur. If you find the review of any help at all, please click the helpful green button at the end. THANKS!

We stayed at the hotel on Friday 26th July, 2013.

We found the hotel with ease and was lucky enough to park right outside the hotel, in free parking spaces. There must have been 7 or 8 places. Another free car park owned by the hotel, is apparently just 20 or so metres away, around a corner.

Reception and check in was great and the Gentleman spoke fantastic English. We were handed the keys to room 342 on the third floor. We had paid extra for a superior room, as a treat, because we were coming to the end of our adventure.

Room 342 did not disappoint. Large, clean, tidy, well presented, with fantastic views of the Chateau , river and old town. There were tea / coffee making facilities, a free safe which was very user friendly, a fantastic large flat screen TV, which was the best TV picture I’ve ever seen and a fantastic a/c system. All for 94.70 euros a night. Excellent value.

We had seen this hotel a few years ago when we stayed at the Best Western Adagio, which is also on the same side of the river as this Mercure. I’m not sure how old the Mercure is, but it must of recently enjoyed a full refurbishment, as everywhere was new and sparkly and in great condition.

Saumur:

If its your first visit to Saumur, you have chosen well. Just a short walk over the Loire river bridge, takes you to the old / main town, where many bars, restaurants and shops can be found. There is some beautiful architecture and we found a lovely little plaza, where drinks and food could be enjoyed. Overall, a relaxing and sophisticated experience.

It’s the twin town of my home Warwick and that’s why we first decided to visit, some years ago.

We strolled back over the bridge at just gone 10.00p.m, to go to a Chinese restaurant which is just around the corner from the hotel on the main bridge road, but alas, it closes at 10.00p.m, even on Fridays. So we went to bed on empty stomachs, but still had a great time.

Breakfast:

Because of the Chinese situation, we decided to have breakfast before we set off. The Restaurant enjoys great views of the Town and its river and Chateau. We opted for the 8.50 euros per person choice, which was basically coffee, one orange juice and two croissants each.

The alternative at 14.00 euros each was buffet I believe, to include cheeses and hams. May be some boiled eggs ?

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful Town. We would highly recommend both and will definitely return.

Many Thanks
Gary.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment which encourages us in our quality.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Speedy checkin and check out. Comfortable and very clean. Secure Car Park was fine also, but as mentioned on a post 30 July there was some dog litter scattered (maybe the same ones) that had not been cleared.
It was a short walk across the river to town, which was not a problem. The vista was nice with the chateau and rive view. We were recommended to visit Bouvet Ladubay Cave, which was absolute superb. We will definitely be returning to Saumur and would like to stay again in this Mercure. My only negative is that be a little more pleasant when being asked for more milk pods! Two do not stretch past two cups of whatever!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment which encourages us in our quality.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great reception staff. Nearby secure carpark littered with doggiedo -a nice surprise at night. We complained but nothing was done. Rooms and bathroom clean and spacious. Wardrobes so narrow that clothes will not fit, suitcase could not be opened off luggage rack because of TV above. No restaurant, no laundry service and reception call button on phones did not work. 4 star rating not justified but would recommend nevertheless..

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dir Madam, Dear Sir,
We are surprised about your commentary.
We work very hard to give you the most services that you ll received.
Your observations were very importants and all of them were take it off.
Best regards.

Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
512 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#3 of 24 in Saumur
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Property: Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing