We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at the Loire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    358
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
87
440
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the heart of Saumur, right on the Loire. I was staying here with friends for the annual Saumur wine tasting, and for the second year running this hotels fails to disappoint, amazing views, though don't open your windows or the Mosquitos will get in, only thing missing from the rooms was an iron and ironing board but not a deal breaker.

This hotel is ideal for a single guest to a full family and all staff speak perfect English as a second language to top of your stay, see you again next year

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bairdy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment encourages us in our qualitative approach.
Do not hesitate to book a room privilege that will bring you comfort.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Yes this is part of a hotel chain so won't have the appeal of smaller quirky B&Bs but it is clean, comfortable and in a great place on an island in the Loire. The facilities were fine and breakfast in the dining room overlooking the river was lovely - plenty of choice and friendly service.

Room Tip: Don't really need to bother with a river view room if only an overnight stop - great views at br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment encourages us in our qualitative approach.
Do not hesitate to book a room privilege that will bring you comfort.
Hoping to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We arrived having spent the previous 5 nights in beautiful B&B accommodation and have to admit to being disappointed when we arrived at this hotel. Staff however were very pleasant and helpful and rooms very clean. Strange that hotels still give you paper cups to make coffee in!!! Spa was nice and good that it was free. Air con was noisy for sleeping so we turned it off and opened window as it was not noisy outside. There was a fridge in the room but it didn't seem to work so not any use. Nothing wrong with this hotel, but I think just disappointing after our previous accommodation :(
Unfortunately we could not run to an upgrade for a river view so had a naff street view.

Room Tip: If you have the money go for a river view. Seems we had a wheelchair friendly room so perhaps more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clocktowerclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comment.
However, I do not understand your approach on the quality and relevance of the latter.
May not have taken the time to enjoy our services.

sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
512 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Property: Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing