We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stop”

Hostellerie St-Vincent
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie St-Vincent
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Laon
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good for overnight stop”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We shot past the hotel first time, as we found the sign rather low and difficult to see, but maybe that is just us, as the hotel is right on the roundabout off the motorway. It looks like a motel as it is single storey, long and low, with plenty of parking space. The receptionist told me he was also the owner, and he was very pleasant and helpful, giving us a map of the old town and instructions as how to get up there. It was about a five minute drive, and fabulous views of Picardy from up at the cathedral. We were content with our stay of one night for 65 euros booked through booking.com. As others have said, it is tired and could do with a refurb, but actually was very clean and tidy. Our breakfast was as good as any, plus you could boil your own fresh egg. We did not eat in the resteraunt, which is apparently a separate concession. My only gripe was that the walls were very thin, and I could hear all the goings on in the adjoining bathroom, and my bed was rock hard. Apart from this it was a convienient stopover whilst travelling through France.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    36
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
33
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Highly suitable for over night stop.
Good restaurant
Good bedroom/bathroom (as shown on Home Page)
All staff very friendly. Very close to autoroute and easy to find.
Total opposite to Hotel Charme en Maconnais

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Having seen Laon from the autoroute for many years we decided to break a journey home with a night in Laon. Hotel St Vincent is in a commercial area quite distant from the historic old town. From the outside it looks to be stuck in the 1970s and in need of investment. Inside it is vast, clean and very 1975. However the welcome was warm and the service excellent. Comfortable room with a nice bed was let down only by the extremely narrow bath and lack of shower facility. Overall adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beancounter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

For some reason the card machines in the 'chain' budget hotels were not accepting any of my plastic - I had driven from Reims trying to get a bed for the night. At midnight I spotted a receptionist int his hotel and stopped - although it was more expensive that I had wanted it was a relief to find a person to help out.
The room was a nice size - had a door opening onto the garden, a tv, the bathroom had a bath and a separate loo.
The bed was comfortable, but there was no tea making facility. Breakfast was 9.50€ extra and was not really worth it at all. The buffet was sparse and not topped up - there was only bits of cheese left, but the croissants and bread were fresh. Coffee came from a machine - and was 'instant' style.
I would probably not return as it was expensive for a stop over hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones-on-a-jaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stopped at this hotel on the way to Zermatt . The outside is not attractive but is quite nice inside. The rooms could do with a little more furniture though it was ok. We personally did not stay and eat at the restaurant there but ate out. Do not eat around the hotel but head towards the Cathedral which is a very nice area.
Our room was near the road so we could hear lots of trucks passing . Breakfast was good, lots of choices and good value for money.
All in all it is fine for a quick stop off.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We chose the hotel as it offered a restaurant which was mentioned in the Michelin guide .Reception was fine and the staff helpful .Our room was at the back overlooking a car park and unobtrusive Allotment gardens. The room was clean but ther appeared to be no extractor in the bathroom.Breakfast was satisfactory , fresh boiled eggs etc.better than what some Ibis hotels offer.
The restaurant was well attended by guests and locals and we enjoyed our meal which was good .The Plat du Jour ran out quite quickly!
A good place to stop for the night and to visit the Old Town which was most interesting.There is a lot of history in the area particularly concerning the First World War.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnexRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in several 'stopover' hotels, and this was easily the best one. A cut above the Akena/Etap types, and felt more like a family-run hotel (even though it is a chain). the room was basic but good value, and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful.
We didn't eat in the restautrant (closed on Sundays), but there is a Buffalo Grill nearby so we ate there.
Breakfast was buffet style, with reasonable choice. There was even an egg-boiling machine!
Laon is well worth visiting, particularly the cathedral. There is a large carpark in the old town, or if you're lucky you can park in front of the Hotel de Ville. Alternatively park near the railway station and take the funicular railway to the top of the hill - great fun!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laon hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
390 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
1.1 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#8 of 8 in Laon
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Laon
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Laon
Ibis Budget Laon
#6 of 8 in Laon
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie St-Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie St-Vincent

Property: Hostellerie St-Vincent
Address: Av Charles de Gaulle, 02000 Laon, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie St-Vincent 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostellerie St-Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing