We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located and friendly hotel in historic city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Laon is a spectacular city, an undiscovered gem in the Picardy countryside, bypassed by the autoroute and hence spared the downsides of mass tourism (but also the upsides - the local economy has been in rather dire straits for years and there are more boarded-up shop fronts in the old city than you would wish to see). To see the very centre of this important cultural and architectural destination, this is an excellent hotel choice, with solid, reliable accommodation, on-site parking (at a small cost - but there is public parking nearby), a warm welcome and an excellent restaurant. There is a bit of traffic noise and some local construction work, and the absence of outside space such as a garden (not surprising given the location) means it is probably not that well-suited to families with young children as there's nowhere to run around, but for those in search of a central location with several good set menus and a decent wine list, look no further!

Room Tip: Beware traffic and construction noise at the front....ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamonixasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel with our young children plus the grandparents on our way back from the Alps. Staff are extremely friendly and made a very big effort to find us two rooms for 7 people despite being almost fully booked. They had to move some other guests around in order to find us space. Dinner was fantastic and so was breakfast. The rooms were beautifully decorated and they were large rooms. We did some great shopping in Laon and visited the stunning cathedral which is less known than Notre Dame in Paris but just as beautiful and certainly far less crowded!! We will certainly return to Laon and Hotel de la Banniere!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Nikki6805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was a classic French hotel which is good with large comfortable bedrooms and a very good restaurant. It is slightly old-fashioned and dark, but the service was excellent and it made a very good overnight stop. The breakfast room is a bit stark, but the breakfast was fine. Well-situated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank broad6bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stopped here for one night as we drove through France - the hotel owners were so welcoming & our room comfortable - parking is an added bonus. The town is beautiful with an amazing cathedral. Definitely worth a stop if you are passing through.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Laon is such a lovely city, the cathedral being the highlight. We looked around the town before deciding to eat at the hotel...and we glad we did. There is a brasserie in the Cathedral square, but we were slightly out of season, and it was decidedly "off". Its better in high season...buzzing
The hotel is typical of a French town hotel. A bit quirky, but clean, and an excellent dinner. An elegant dining room with good service,
The room was fine. Not five star but Ok.
Parking in a secure courtyard, where it pays to be able to drive on the mirrors!

Room Tip: Try to ensure your room overlooks the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastandmarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived at this hotel feeling quite ill as we had clearly eaten food the previous night that was not good. The welcome was very good, they insisted on carrying all of our luggage to our very nice room and then helping to garage our car. The hotel is very old and quite fascinating with extremely comfortable beds. We tried to take dinner in the restaurant, but unfortunately were unable to eat much of what we ordered, which looked very good. The manager was extremely kind and understanding and administered (free) medication - which seemed to have the desired effect. next morning again all of our luggage was carried to our car - needless to say we wanted to tip the kind man who did this - but he adamantly refused, claimed it was part of the service. We will certainly hope to return again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Typical, old French hotel in centre of the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The restaurant was very good, food well cooked and presented with local produce. We chose the 32 euro menu which had 4 courses plus an amuse-bouche, we felt it was good value though you could no doubt find cheaper meals in restaurants in the town. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anitacott76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
7 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
1 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
12.3 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
696 reviews
15.9 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Banniere de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Banniere de France

Address: 11 rue Franklin Roosevelt, 02000 Laon, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Banniere de France 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the MEDIEVAL TOWN OF LAON and its classified surroundings, Mr Moustadraf and his professionnal team will offer you a warm welcome at the HOTEL DE LA BANNIERE DE FRANCE, a former post-carriage inn , where you will enjoy the charm of a entirely renovated, tricentennial country inn and a restaurant for gourmets. .The 18 BEDROOMS, the private park place, the GOURMET RESTAURANT with a choice of the best French vintages from its famous wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Banniere de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Banniere France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing