We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Star Dive & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Anda
Certificate of Excellence
Bohol Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great vacation”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've just spent 5 days (2nd-7th July 2014) staying at the Blue Star resort and had a wonderful time. The hospitality was second to none. The owners Dirk and Jessi were especially helpful, organising babysitting for our 4 year old daughter Katie whenever we went diving. What can I say? The diving, rooms, food, views and staff were all great. We can't thank Blue Star enough for making our (and especially our daughter's) vacation such a memorable one.
Colin, Claire & Katie (UK).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin_McEwan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
68
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful
Stay at this hotel, the bungalows are great with a stunning sea view :)
All the rooms are clean but we had choose the bungalow was very relaxing specially during the night, hear the sound of the nature. The foods are great,love the Philippine dish.

And the staffs are very friendly specially the couple who manage the resort. (Dirk & Jess) lovely couple. They made our holiday perfect.

I highly recommend this resort.
We will definitely coming back:)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lets start with the positive....the view....it's stunning, like paradise with knobs on :D The internet was ace and the staff were helpful. From there though...well, as the title says...meh.

So, when we arrived, the staff who let us into the room found that the main light didn't work, did they fix it, naaah, so when we came back each night, one of us had to stumble through the room to turn the light on over the beds. We also had a fridge in our room - luckily we didn't need to use it because it didn't seem to work and there was an odd smell when you opened the door - not kosher!

The rooms...well they had beds, so that was good, unfortunately, they also had ants, lots of them and in the bathroom as well. Housekeeping did spray the rooms when asked but they only did it the once and whilst the ants didn't return to the beds, they were in the sink every morning - bleugh :( The other things about the bathroom were that the water pressure was dire, somebody pouring a jug over my head would have been more effective, it was also a bit of a DIY job I think, as attested to by the corner shelves which looked like Bob the Builder had put them up with whatever was available. Oh and I almost forgot, the sliding mosquito screen door, it kept falling off, I acquired the name Hercules as it came off in my hands pretty much every time I touched it!

Food, well, you can take it or leave it, it was edible and the breakfast buffet was okay, nothing to write home about but a reasonable start to the day.

All in all, we won't be going back....

Room Tip: One that looks over the sea...if I had the room I had without the sea view, well, I wouldn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Incey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hello everyone.
I've been staying at the Blue Star from March 4th up to March 15th. So i had some time to experience this resort from different points of view.
The resort itself is great. Wonderfull setting of the bungalows on top of a rock (i guess 25 m above sealevel). All bungalows have seaview plus a very big terrace .
The housekeeping is doing a perfect job. These people really give there upmost. This demands respect.
The setting of the restaurant is outstanding. Amazing view over the ocean . Very romantic facilities available. Ask Michelle, the Lady of the House for assistence.
The menu does not offer a big choice as you can expect in restaurants but i always enjoyed my dinner . Every day i had a different main course. And always very well prepared .
The pricesetting is rather high but due to the remote area acceptable.

The diving sites are really outstanding. I dived at the philippines to many different places , all famous and recommend by divers but this place is by far the BEST. Never saw these scenery and variety at the other divesites at the philippines. I would even say these divesites are among the best of S-E Asia if you love Coral and colourfull marinelife.
I have about 400 open water dives ,mainly in SE-Asia and the dives at the Blue Star are all among the top 20.
Very recommended indeed.

This resort scores very high due to the consistency available at ALL levels . From the housekeeping , the restaurant, the kitchen and the management. They all did a wonderfull job.
I certainly come back .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I did not have a good night sleep just because i was too excited listening to the wonderful sound of nature, and watching the super bright stars from my bed. Service is great as long as you use the service of the resort.
Since tours/transportation are a bit pricey we were trying to organize some more affordable options for us outside of the resorts. Unfortunately the staff was less eager to help.
A big plus worth to mention though..When one of the restaurant staff found out that i am trying to find a fisherman i can get freshly caught sea urchin from, they went out fishing for me just a few hours before dinner.
Also, since it was my very first scuba dive i was pretty nervous, but i feel like they were very patient and i felt safe during the whole time. Overall great value!

Room Tip: Bungalow 6 has amazing ocean view with big windows. You can see the bottom of the ocean from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agibabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were drawn to the Blue Star dive resort due to its reputation as one of the best places around for scuba diving, and in particular for the macro on offer. We were so absolutely thrilled with diving and staying there that I felt compelled to make an account here to sing the praises of this place….

For the divers amongst you, we saw amazing creatures that you only rarely see in other places with any real frequency. This place was even better than the Maldives for diving in my opinion, if you exclude the chance to see larger fish. The highlight was the elusive mandarin fish, of which we saw a small family on a sunset dive. We regularly saw sea snakes, frogfish, scoprionfish, stonefish, pygmy seahorses, the rather fabulous mantis shrimps and the most diverse array of other species including huge schools of fish in the thousands, I could never name them all. The reef was just teeming with life. It was really a sensory overload in terms of all the different things we saw, so much so that our dive books didn't have enough space to write all the things we saw on some of the dives. It helped to have a particularly skilful dive master with us, called Arjie, who really made a difference to the holiday by taking us to places we had a good shot of seeing these fish. He also was extremely good at finding them. We saw THE most amazing bright blue frogfish ever, it was a real thrill. So for diving it gets a clear five stars, and I would expect it's a great place for beginner divers who don't want to be doing three dives a day, and want to hang out by the pool for a while. Equipment was sound, and was carried to and from the dive boat by the crew, which is a great thing if you're tired after a dive. It's NOT for big fish, but if you are one of those divers who appreciates the detail and smaller creatures on the reef, then I can't imagine a better place. The coral reef is amazing, although better appreciated diving than snorkelling. It's a little too deep at the drop off to really see the details, but we've never seen such amazing, full corals as here. It was genuinely spectacular.

Culture-wise there's a fair amount on offer in Bohol. We saw the chocolate hills and the tarsier sanctuary for example (organised by the resort), we went to Loboc which had been badly hit by the earthquake. Also went on a trekking tour to Candijay to see a waterfall and swim nearby, and made our way back through some beautiful rice terraces. There's more to do than diving. If you're feeling like something a bit more wild, a nice guy we met there recommended we check out the cockfighting in the local 'cock pit' in nearby Anda, which is not for the faint-hearted, but an integral part of the filipino sunday culture.

The food was excellent, real portions too. Value wasn't a problem. The average dinner would cost 7-10 USD, but it was definitely worth it. Breakfast was also substantial, if you wanted it. Lunch, good sandwiches for about 5 USD. Drinks were great value too. A beer was only about 1.60 USD, which is really a great price for a resort. If there is a single problem, it was that there was some loud karaoke bar nearby which was sounding off fairly regularly. It's not going to even begin to detract from the 5 star rating we want to leave here. We were in the beach front bungalows, which all have nice views and a balcony. We had a mosquito net we didn't have to use as there are mosquito grills over the windows, and they are not really so present. I would still recommend taking some DEET-containing stuff with you for the sundown time of day, when the mosquitoes really come out.

The resort will soon be under new management, but Valerie did her best to take care of our needs and was a great hostess. The girls working in the resort were also very friendly. I wish her well in their new venture in Camiguan, where they will open their own resort sometime next year.

If you haven't been to the Philippines, it's a super friendly place. I was thrilled with how the locals treated us, and wouldn't hesitate to go back. It's really a long way away, but that is exactly why you can really get away from it all. So, five stars it is. I won't share too many photos, but one from a jet-lagged morning after arrival we saw the perfect sunrise from our balcony. If it looks this good from an iPhone, you can try to imagine how it looked in real life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoDiverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anda, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We actually live in Anda but we have recommended Bluestar to friends as we have become regular visitors ourselves (for the pool, diving and restaurant).
We visit regularly as our son takes diving lessons there (brilliant instruction for kids btw) and we try not to miss the pizza nights on wednesdays.
I can thoroughly recommend Bluestar for anyone wanting a mix of diving or snorkelling combined with relaxation and good service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anda
3.1 mi away
Anda White Beach Resort
44.0 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.0 mi away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
48.6 mi away
Isla Hayahay
Isla Hayahay
#1 of 1 in Calape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Petra Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Dive & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Dive & Resort

Property: Blue Star Dive & Resort
Address: Ipo, Candabong | Bohol, Anda 6311, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Anda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Anda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Star Dive & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just high enough above the beach and house reef to enhance the view, this ample bungalow resort set in 2.5 Hectares of landscaped gardens in the region of Anda on the island of Bohol. At 40 meters above the sea, the volcanic rocky plateau provides a breathtaking view on the open sea and promises unforgettable sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Star Dive & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Dive Hotel Anda
Blue Star Dive & Resort Anda, Bohol Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing