We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotelier par excellence”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The owner of the Hotel du Palais is extraordinarily helpful. My wife was ill during our stay, and he was very, very kind and sympathetic. We cannot speak highly enough of him. The hotel itself is right in the middle of the lovely old city, within easy walk of the ramparts, the cathedral and lots of bars and restaurants. The hotel is quirky but it works well -thanks to the excellent Monsieur Themines, the owner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Enjoyed a nice one night stay. Hotel benefits from good location and has great character. Staff very friendly and made very welcome. Breakfast buffet was good and set us up for the day. Ok rooms are a little dated but for the price were clean and comfortable. Overall we would recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A hotel with individual charm...no glossy brochures in the room but a very comfortable bed, a fridge , tv, and separate roomy bath and shower, two French windows overlooking square with fountain,(although the colour scheme was a little eccentric) Breakfast excellent, staff polite and helpful. Location could not be better...old Angouleme with many good and varied restaurants within 5 mins walk.

Room Tip: Room 106 a bit more expensive but worth it...faces the square with 2 French windows...and wonderfull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is, as other reviewers have noted, extremely well positioned in the centre of old Angouleme with an attractive square in front and numerous restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is an elegant building with a bizarre decorative scheme, featuring assorted vibrant colours. Our host was welcoming and helpful. Our room was on the small side; the bathroom was adequate; since the evening was hot and the room did not have a fan we slept (or attempted to) with the windows wide open. It was a Friday night and the youth of Angouleme were celebrating late and talking loudly as they walked through the square - it was 3.00am before they finished or I fell asleep. Breakfast was good and copious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you like uniformity and reassuring beige - go somewhere else. From the colourful reception area to the draped cafe and lounge this place has personality. So what if the room was a bit sparse - it was purple and had plenty of hanging space and a proper big bath! Slightly tricky step to get to it mind - but much more fun than Ibis or Mercure or any of the other chains. Patron and wife are doing the place up and clearly care about guests - home made jams for breakfast and it couldn't be more central with cafes and restaurants by the dozen within spitting distance of the front door. When taxi didn't arrive madame took us to the station in an old car extracted from the back of a garage (they even have parking!). We'll remember it fondly and would recommend it those who like something a bit different.

Room Tip: Rooms at the fron probably a bit bigger and have windows onto the square - but might be noisy. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasprag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

With it's own eclectic style, the Du Palais is full of charm. Very reasonable and right in the middle of town. Dominic and his lovely wife couldn't be more helpful and attentive. You will enjoy a wonderful breakfast and be sure to buy a jar or two of homemade jams made by Dominic's wife. Incredible. Not a new hotel but the bright colors and plentiful charm of the staff more than make up for it. Very clean and the wi-fi is free.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank casey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My room was a double superior room with floor to ceiling french doors opening onto a lovely wrought iron balcony and overlooking the square. Both the location of the hotel and the location of the room were perfect as I could watch people shopping and relaxing in the sun below and only needed to step outside and I was amongst the boutiques and restaurants of Angouleme.
There was a small fridge, but no tea or coffee facilities or drinking glasses, and the bathroom amenities consisted of one towel, no bathmat and plenty of liquid soap - however, the bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows.
I had difficulty at first getting WIFI to connect on either my iPhone 4 or my lap top computer but the proprietor, Dominic, went to great lengths to assist with this problem.
Breakfast was generous and delicious. It consisted fruits, yogurt, breads, pastries, croissants along with cheeses, ham, prosciutto, boiled eggs etc and do-it-yourself freshly squeezed orange juice.
So, whilst the amenities were a little spartan, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was great, the location was perfect, and the proprietor was hospitable and wonderful - and I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255100Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angouleme hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Angouleme Hotel de France
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Gelais
Hotel Saint Gelais
#2 of 20 in Angouleme
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saint Antoine
Hotel Saint Antoine
#4 of 20 in Angouleme
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Palma
Le Palma
#8 of 20 in Angouleme
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Campanile Angouleme Ouest - Saint Yrieix
Campanile Angouleme Ouest - Sain...
#2 of 2 in Saint-Yrieix-sur-Charente
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
#14 of 20 in Angouleme
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Address: 4 Place Francis Louvel, 16000, Angouleme, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Angouleme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing