We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quirky hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice quirky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nice hotel, little quirky with the colours.
I rolled into the town at around 930pm (i dont pre book) and found this hotel after looking online, I took a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the central town square which was very nice looking out in the morning.
Very hard to find parking though in the town though, but I did eventually find somewhere.
The room I had was nice, vibrant colours, wood floors, old radiator and exposed brickwork.
I cannot speak much about the town as I was just passing though but if i did go that way again I would stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_Branco_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    98
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
86
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Maybe that we happened to coincide our stay with the International Vintage Car Rally was partly responsible for our fabulous time there last month, but a lot of it has to be down to this little gem of a hotel. The rooms are lovely and with fabulous views and the most charming couple to greet your every need with a smile. Dominick and Dominique own and run the converted convent, colourful landings, impressive staircase looking onto a beautiful square. Good prices too...it's the place to stay in Angouleme. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The view over the square with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were two friends travelling on motorcycles and, as requested, secure parking for our 2 bikes was available in the hotel garage. It was a little hard to find and our GPS managed to give us a comprehensive tour of Angouleme before we found the attractive square in the old town where the hotel is located! The hotel has a modern lift and a beautiful sweeping staircase. Our twin room was clean and the comfortable and very heavily crimson in decor. We had a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast. The hotel is close to plenty of bars and restaurants and we thought it was very good value for money. Service was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is a bugger to find, the receptonist was very helpful and tight parking was available in their car park. Our room was large , a bit spartan but with a huge bathroom. It overlooked the square and was therefore noisy. There are an amazing number of eating places just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The owner of the Hotel du Palais is extraordinarily helpful. My wife was ill during our stay, and he was very, very kind and sympathetic. We cannot speak highly enough of him. The hotel itself is right in the middle of the lovely old city, within easy walk of the ramparts, the cathedral and lots of bars and restaurants. The hotel is quirky but it works well -thanks to the excellent Monsieur Themines, the owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Enjoyed a nice one night stay. Hotel benefits from good location and has great character. Staff very friendly and made very welcome. Breakfast buffet was good and set us up for the day. Ok rooms are a little dated but for the price were clean and comfortable. Overall we would recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st sornin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

A hotel with individual charm...no glossy brochures in the room but a very comfortable bed, a fridge , tv, and separate roomy bath and shower, two French windows overlooking square with fountain,(although the colour scheme was a little eccentric) Breakfast excellent, staff polite and helpful. Location could not be better...old Angouleme with many good and varied restaurants within 5 mins walk.

Room Tip: Room 106 a bit more expensive but worth it...faces the square with 2 French windows...and wonderfull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angouleme hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Angouleme Hotel de France
0.9 mi away
Hotel Epi d'Or
Hotel Epi d'Or
#4 of 20 in Angouleme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saint Antoine
Hotel Saint Antoine
#5 of 20 in Angouleme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Palma
Le Palma
#11 of 20 in Angouleme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citotel Europeen
Citotel Europeen
#10 of 20 in Angouleme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
#16 of 20 in Angouleme
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 4 Place Francis Louvel, 16000, Angouleme, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Angouleme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing