We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay !!”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Stay !!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Thank god for hotels like these !! Bang smack in the middle of the old town, walking distance to plenty of restaurants, shops, market etc - parking available and extremely pleasant staff.

At first we toyed with the idea of booking this hotel or the Mercure in Angouleme and I am so pleased we chose this hotel. We booked a junior suite and were rewarded with a huge room in the attic with quaint beams, a separate sleeping area with ensuite bathroom and a separate toilet. The room was decorated in bright sea blue with white flooring and furnishings and THE most comfy bed we have ever slept in.

We didn't have breakfast as there were plenty of places to eat and we wanted to sit in the sun - yes the sun did shine for the 5 days we were there - and people watch. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room if this is something you require - you may be able to have drinks downstairs - we didn't check. There is a fridge and our room had two huge flat screen tvs for those that find this important.

As the previous guests have mentioned - this hotel is not your typical beige/cream/white/silver handled bog standard hotel décor - it was a breath of fresh air and a place we shall return to again and again.

Cant fault it and good value for money - try it !

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite which was at the back of the hotel so no view over the square however this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyblueConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    103
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
92
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel really has alot to offer, lovely position right in the centre of the old town, good clean rooms that are nicely decorated and very friendly staff. The breakfast was fantastic and we were just so pleased with our stay we were trying to think of reasons to come back. It had the personal
touch of a boutique hotel and we loved the unassuming but helpful staff. Really great hotel that ensured we enjoyed our Angouleme stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nice hotel, little quirky with the colours.
I rolled into the town at around 930pm (i dont pre book) and found this hotel after looking online, I took a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the central town square which was very nice looking out in the morning.
Very hard to find parking though in the town though, but I did eventually find somewhere.
The room I had was nice, vibrant colours, wood floors, old radiator and exposed brickwork.
I cannot speak much about the town as I was just passing though but if i did go that way again I would stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_Branco_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Maybe that we happened to coincide our stay with the International Vintage Car Rally was partly responsible for our fabulous time there last month, but a lot of it has to be down to this little gem of a hotel. The rooms are lovely and with fabulous views and the most charming couple to greet your every need with a smile. Dominick and Dominique own and run the converted convent, colourful landings, impressive staircase looking onto a beautiful square. Good prices too...it's the place to stay in Angouleme. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The view over the square with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were two friends travelling on motorcycles and, as requested, secure parking for our 2 bikes was available in the hotel garage. It was a little hard to find and our GPS managed to give us a comprehensive tour of Angouleme before we found the attractive square in the old town where the hotel is located! The hotel has a modern lift and a beautiful sweeping staircase. Our twin room was clean and the comfortable and very heavily crimson in decor. We had a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast. The hotel is close to plenty of bars and restaurants and we thought it was very good value for money. Service was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is a bugger to find, the receptonist was very helpful and tight parking was available in their car park. Our room was large , a bit spartan but with a huge bathroom. It overlooked the square and was therefore noisy. There are an amazing number of eating places just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The owner of the Hotel du Palais is extraordinarily helpful. My wife was ill during our stay, and he was very, very kind and sympathetic. We cannot speak highly enough of him. The hotel itself is right in the middle of the lovely old city, within easy walk of the ramparts, the cathedral and lots of bars and restaurants. The hotel is quirky but it works well -thanks to the excellent Monsieur Themines, the owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angouleme hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Angouleme Hotel de France
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Gelais
Hotel Saint Gelais
#2 of 20 in Angouleme
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Epi d'Or
Hotel Epi d'Or
#4 of 20 in Angouleme
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saint Antoine
Hotel Saint Antoine
#5 of 20 in Angouleme
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Palma
Le Palma
#10 of 20 in Angouleme
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
#15 of 20 in Angouleme
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 4 Place Francis Louvel, 16000, Angouleme, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Angouleme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing