We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Epi d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Epi d'Or
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Good hotel. Rooms are clean and staff very helpfull. Hotel is located close to the city center. Private parking is free. I no place you can easily find on the street near the hotel. The reception closes around 10 pm so if you do late checkin call them in advance so that they will tell you how to find the key..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymontana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpidorAngouleme, Directeur général at Hotel Epi d'Or, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
thank you so much for your comments. Hope to see you again ! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    78
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
22
57
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, Berks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed one night in Sept 12 en route further south. It was excellent value, a good clean room and helpful service at the reception. We walked to the town centre to eat. Took about15 minutes, But was great to have the market virtually next door in the morning. Open even day.

We would choose this hotel again - definitely

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpidorAngouleme, Directeur général at Hotel Epi d'Or, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
Google Translation
Bonjour, Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour vous ai donné satisfaction. Merci pour vos retours positifs sur sur notre personnel qui met tout en oeuvre pour vous satisfaire ! A bientot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Our room had been recently refurnished and decorated, in a pleasant, modern style. The rooms are certainly quite small, though. It was very hot in Angouleme on the night we stayed, and there was some street noise if we left the window open - but at least there was a good fan. As we got a deal including breakfast, this was reasonable value for money. It was a bit further from the station than I'd thought - 20 minutes with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolntravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpidorAngouleme, Directeur général at Hotel Epi d'Or, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
Thank you for your positive comments. See you for your next stay in Angouleme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2008

The free parking is actually a couple of free places on the road outside the hotel, first come first served. The hotel looked in need of decoration but ok for one night until we got to our floor which stank (a mixture of dirty socks and mould is the nearest I could describe it). There was an overpowering, heavy smell of cigar smoke in our room. When we booked our room the hotel were informed that we had a three month old baby with us. I was concerned for my baby's health if we were to stay in that room. The air on the main street outside was cleaner. The room was en suite and a good size but was grubby, we could manage that but not the smell / fumes. When we asked for some help from the receptionist in changing our room or finding a room elsewhere she was extremely unhelpful, with the attitude of 'like it or leave it'. My partner is French so there was no issues of language barrier or misunderstanding. We left, however still had to pay as it was pre-booked and you need to provide 24 hours notice for cancellations in France.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — The stink, the receptionists attitude
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3ganders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpidorAngouleme, Propriétaire at Hotel Epi d'Or, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
Thank you for your comment. Our Hotel has been renovated in 2010. I'm so desapointed for your bad experience. Have a good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Angouleme hotels

Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The L'Epi d'Or is cheap enough a single room cost £40.
But be aware that the single rooms do not have a shower just a bath. The rooms look across a very busy a street but the location is walkable into the town centre. Ask for a map at reception.

The receptionist went on and on about how to switch on the flat screen T.V. Most state of the art peice of kit in the whole room. Although my friend did have the sort of lamps that just dim when you touch them. No BBC news....by the way.

Cheap and Cheerful...we had breakfast in town.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank AngeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpidorAngouleme, Propriétaire at Hotel Epi d'Or, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
Dear Ange, Thank you for your comment. Now our hotel is renoved ! Se you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angouleme hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#3 of 20 in Angouleme
202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Angouleme Hotel de France
1.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Antoine
Hotel Saint Antoine
#5 of 20 in Angouleme
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Saint Gelais
Hotel Saint Gelais
#2 of 20 in Angouleme
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
Ibis Budget Angouleme Centre
#15 of 20 in Angouleme
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Palma
Le Palma
#10 of 20 in Angouleme
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Epi d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Epi d'Or

Property: Hotel Epi d'Or
Address: 66 boulevard Rene Chabasse, 16000, Angouleme, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Angouleme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Angouleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Epi d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Epi d'Or hotel is located in the city centre in Angouleme, close to the Victor Hugo market and pedestrian streets. It offers free Wi-Fi and comfortable accommodation.The rooms and bathrooms of the Epi D'or were completely renovated and soundproofed in 2010. They are spacious, tastefully decorated and have new bedding, flat-screen TV with Canal+ and en suite facilities.L'Epi d'Or Hotel is locate just over 1 kilometre from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Epi d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Epi d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing