We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK for foodies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Paul

Chez Paul
Ranked #26 of 178 Restaurants in Angouleme
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Just OK for foodies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I did not subscribe to the opinion that the staff effects you meal but it is true, we had the sour puss prune faced waitress, who thought it was her job to be outside of her paygrade when we ordered our main course,both my wife and I chose the sole after I asked a few questions about other dishes, she looked disconected and seemed to be on autopilot reading from a script and rattling it off in dispassionate and non caring way, we should have left as the law of the vibes was kicking in big time!!. Anyway when it turned up it was quite nice taste wise but it hadn't been cooked long enough and you could not get it off the bone. We debated calling prune face to cook it for a few more minutes, unfortunatley she has been to the " Do not see your customer trying to catch your eye despite the fact that there is only 6 of you in the restaurant school" It was easier to payup and leave. Very dissapointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekCC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    202
    126
    56
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Don't know how this place has received 3.5 average. Its a 2 star and nothing more. Service was cold at best and food was a big let down. Lamb was 95% fat. Not sure what kind of chef would serve this meat up on a plate and expect it to be considered anything but terrible. Partners steak was very fatty and disappointing. Desert was in line with the mains. Overall a night to forget and for 75 euro this was shocking value. Avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it was.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Chez Paul used to be my favourite place to eat when in Angouleme. It's sadly gone downhill a bit. The "new" menu sadly omits the Oslo Salad; my favourite. The Salad Nicoise had Herrings / Rollmops and bits of fruit in it. See photo'.There are a few remaining long-term staff but always a lot of new faces. 7/10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8002reverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Promised more than it delivered”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The quality of the food was not as expected. The oysters were not of great size or quality and the faux filet was nearly inedible due to the amount of sinew and marbelling of the meat. Desert was average and not of great proportion. On the whole this was a very dissapointing evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerryRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great venue, great food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

It was pouring with rain on the evening of a public holiday and the place was still very busy. There are several sections including romantic booths a more open area and a really stunning garden area with a beautiful "Trompe d'oeil".

The service was excellent, courteous and informative. I had a selection of nine juicy plump oyster and a beautifully cooked and filleted Sole, while my wife has a langoustine entree and the Maigret de Canard, we both followed this with the tartlette de citron, which was superb.

We made a poor choice of wine but this was our fault as we did not seek advice.

All in all a really great place to eat and it would be a first rate venue with visiting friends. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Paul also viewed

Angouleme, Charente
 
Angouleme, Charente
Angouleme, Charente
 

Been to Chez Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing