We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious seafood..great ambiance”
Review of Chez Paul

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Paul
Ranked #17 of 183 Restaurants in Angouleme
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood..great ambiance”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Next door to the Hotel Du Palais where we were staying we visited Chez Paul and had a wonderful meal. 2 dozen of the freshest oysters from Ile D'Oleron - 2 hours away - were served floating on a bed of ice with plenty of liquid still in the shells, a carafe of Bordeuax Rose followed by Filet de Merlu served on oyster mushrooms - simply superb.

The place was hopping, a great modern, trendy bistro atmosphere in a large dining area.

Great value for money - I think our bill was around 80 euros - and walking distance to our hotel.

We wanted to go again but due to the holiday period it wasn't opened - will certainly go back.

Highly recommend it !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyblueConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    229
    134
    60
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely plat de jour in a chic environment”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Luckily we didn't get the sour puss but a lovely young man who was very attentive and helpful. The plat de jour was tasty and the wine reasonably priced. Lovely chic Resturant with a great atmosphere, reasonably priced. Also had the coffee gourmet which finished off the meal nicely. Would return

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bradleyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice fillet steak”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

For a monday night this place seemed to be the busiest around. I was not dissapointed with the fillet steak which was well cooked and made perfect to order. Staff were friendly and bill reasonable. €111 for 3 courses for 3 including 2 fillet steaks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food in a stunning garden”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant which was a couple of doors from our hotel in the beautiful Old Town area of Angouleme. We had a couple of cognac and schleppes at a high bar outside and were served the most delicious mussels in a tomato oil dressing and sliced chorizo The restaurant looked very enticing and was furnished in a modern but elegant style. We enjoyed the mussels so much that we decided not to go any further but to stay for dinner. The waiter asked us would we like to dine in the garden. It was a beautiful warm evening so we said yes. We went through several different sections of the restaurant all furnished very elegantly before being shown to a table in a huge almost tropical garden with a huge water feature. We started with carpaccio of beef, then had very tasty duck and finished with a delicious chocolate fondant with soft runny centre. The whole evening was delightful and the staff were warm and friendly. I couldn't fault our dining experience and felt it was also great value for money at 21euros for the three courses.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown On spey Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lunch en vacancy”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We found this restaurant by accident wandering round the beautiful town of Angouleme.

We ate inside (not offered the outside like the French customers who came in ) which was very nice.

Had the two course lunch.

Service and food were very good. Bottle of house rose which was also good.

All in all a very pleasant experience and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Paul also viewed

Angouleme, Charente
 
Angouleme, Charente
 
Angouleme, Charente
Angouleme, Charente
 

Been to Chez Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing