We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No star rating, but we give it five stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quai des Pontis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
Jaca, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No star rating, but we give it five stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Five star treatment by staff. We stayed in a cabin on the river. Beautiful views. We awoke to the birds singing in the morning. At night we sat on the balcony and watched the ducks and fish right below us. The cabins were roomy and well appointed. We liked the hotel bar, and they offered to bring drinks to our cabin, which was a ways away. Same with breakfast. When we mentioned that we were going to Hennessey, we were given a coupon for 50% off and Hennessey treated us as special when they found out where we were staying. Wifi in our cabin was great. TV reception was good, but we couldn't find any programs in English (maybe that's good because we watched nature and read. They are constantly upgrading the already appealing grounds. Great venue for a party, meeting or wedding. In a few years this will be acknowledged as a five star facility. Free parking on the premises. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We think that the cabin would be the best place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wfredhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quai Des P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Quai des Pontis, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
hello

we would like to really thank you for your comments on trip advisor;

we are delight to read some mail like that, make us progressing every day and give us courage to be better.

we were very happy to welcome you in our hotel, give's you good services and smiles.

we hope to see you again and wish yu the best.

best regards

gabrielle gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    69
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
88
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this hotel based on ranking, as we were booking last minute. This is essentially a summer resort, it looks like a great family spot. We needed room for 4 people, so chose a cabane-- a small cabin right on the banks of the river. First, although charming and adorable, this cabin really is not big enough for 4 adults/teens. It might be ok for a couple with two small children, but the 4 of us could barely move, there was not room for our suitcases-- and not enough seats beyond the beds. Also, it was wet and chilly in late March, and took a while to warm up. I wish we had been offered another room, as i think the rooms in the lodge would have been more comfortable. All this said, the cabane was clean, the bed comfortable, the pullout sofa bed less so. The facility has a large pavilion which looks like a lovely place for a party, a nice lobby, bar and breakfast room- which we did not use. I think we may have been the only guests that night. it would be more fun in the summer, with several families. the location was nice, though- and an easy walk across the bridge into town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the town and its restaurants and bars. Secure parking which was important for us with a car load. The room was spacious and clean with a little terrace which - had the weather been finer - would have been nice to sit with a drink or for breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. A fridge is provided and there are two boulangeries just outside the hotel gates. We will stay here again. All in all, excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Quai des pontes is located on the riverbank of la Charente, some of the cabins are almost in it. It's a quiet place with only 5 minutes walk to the small centre of Cognac. We first booked one night but desided to stay another two after seeing the place. We had one of the modern rooms with a patio and direct access to the garden. The pool is small, but we had it for ourselves most of the time. For a small charge fresh bread/croissants are delivered on the terrasse in the morning, so breakfast is ready when you are.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutdelafrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Set just accross the Pont Neuf, you are staying in a cabin on the banks of the Charente, peaceful, yet minutes walk to the heart og the town of Cognac.

The chalet style accomodation, has a separate sitting area with a table, fridge and microwave.
It is good to be able to unwind and not stare at your bed for the night.
There is a deck to sit out on with views of the Charente.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a lovely setting, great accommodation and views of the river. It has secure parking, breakfast delivered to your lodge/cabin and only a short walk into the main town and Cognac houses.

Had a super time here and would recommend to anyone visiting Cognac.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for only one night in one of the two cabanes, but would have liked to stay longer. The cabane is a wooden house on poles, with a deck above the river and a wonderful view. Nice and quiet, and it's great to have your breakfast on the deck in the morning sun. The interior is tasteful, with a small pantry, fridge an Nespresso machine. The hotel has a lot of private parking space.

Room Tip: The two cabanes are wonderful, but the three Roulottes, standing in a park also looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
0.6 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#4 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#9 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quai des Pontis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quai des Pontis

Property: Hotel Quai des Pontis
Address: 16 Rue des Pontis, 16100 Cognac, France (Formerly Quai des Pontis)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quai des Pontis 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each accommodation for 4 persons at the Quai des Pontis has a living room with a sofa, a flat-screen TV and a DVD player. They also have a refrigerator, microwave and a coffee maker.Each accommodation for 2 persons at the Quai des Pontis has a flat-screen TV and a DVD player. They also have a refrigerator, microwave.Free Wi-Fi access is available in the entire property. A dinner tray can be prepared upon request.The residence also provides free and secure on-site private parking as well as a swimming pool. Bicycle rental is available and the property is just a 5-minute walk from the centre of Cognac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Quai des Pontis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing