We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French elegance...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine du Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine du Breuil
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“French elegance...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

One of the previous reviewers had a good phrase: the timeless elegance of a bygone era... yes, it definitely has that about it: a beautiful chateau, sweeping drives, magnificent grounds and gardens which swoop and tumble away into the valley beyond.

The timeless quality was enhanced for us as virtually every other guest on the night was driving a vintage Bentley of one model or another (it's probably the only time my ten year old MX5 has been the newest car in the car park). The Bentleys (and their owners, mostly the same 'vintage' as their cars!) were having a tour around for a week or two, prior to attendance at the Circuit des Remparts weekend in Angouleme. This became an unexpected 'win' for us - in order to accomodate them all together, Madame upgraded us to a superior room on the first floor at the rear of the chateau, which had two huge bay windows looking out over the gardens, pool and the valley beyond. Comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom, free wi fi, and those stunning views. Excellent! This would normally be around the 120 euros mark as opposed to the 95 euros we paid, but I have to say it would be worth the extra if you decide to visit this hotel in future.

The journey across had been very warm indeed, and we decided to take advantage of the pool in the rear gardens. It is not large, but big enough, and we had it to ourselves (the older clientele having done some 'toe dipping' and deciding it was 'a bit fresh' for them..!). The pool has an infinity edge, facing out down the gardens to the valley beyond. After a cooling swim, we lay back on the sunbeds in the sun... it was one of those defining moments on a holiday where you realise you are both completely chilled out and it's perfect.

Our original plan had been to head into Cognac for the evening, but having already seen the hotel restaurant, with its crisp white table linen, silver, and hand written menus, we made the decision to stay put and enjoy the setting and the views. Although the 'Bentley brigade' was having a 30 strong soiree in the adjoining room, we had a delicious relaxing 3 course dinner, together with a bottle of Gascogne Brumont, mineral water, coffees and Grand Marnier, for a little over 90 euros. Service to table was prompt and attentive throughout.

They have every conceivable cognac at the bar - including my favourite Hine, produced locally at Jarnac. Later, as we lay in bed with the casements open wide, watching the lights twinkling across the valley, we could hear the sounds of bon vivant continuing downstairs. I am nowhere near ready to retire yet, but when I do, I hope it's like this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlinthehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    69
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
24
127
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

If you are fed up with the sterile environment of the hotel chains I suggest you stay at this delightful chateau where you are made to feel like welcome returning friends. We first stayed here last year in April when we found ourselves in the wrong place without any accomadation. Although we were very late arriving Madame kept the dining room open for us, the food was wonderful. The owners are charming, nothing is too much trouble. If you want 5* glitz and 24 hour room service this is not the place for you, however if you want a timeless elegance of a bygone era you will certainly love it here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draindoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our last stay in France was in the Domaine de Breuil in Cognac and despite rumours from previous visitors that the local air is pungent with cognac, we did not detect it during our stay ! Our arrival to Cognac was from the east and the journey into the hotel was not that inspiring. When we finally arrived at the Domaine de Breuil it was a pleasant relief, the building looks magnificent. Evidently it was built around 1850 by one of the cognac distillers but is now run as a place to stay for visitors to the many distillers that surround the area. The inside of the building is spectacular, and the room we had was very good except for only 2 small pots of milk to make tea or coffee which seemed a bit mean ? We had a lovely meal in the evening, the waiters were very friendly and helpful and enjoyed a bottle of locally produced rose wine.
A very nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were two couples celebrating two birthdays and booked the package that included a trip to the Martell distillery. The hotel combined old fashioned service and style. Our rooms were lovely having been recently renovated on the second floor - I would guess from some of the reviews that these should be requested. The package was excellent value. The staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. The food was very good and we all had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that were renovated last year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Booked this hotel in March this year for a nights stay first week in May, made sure to book a table in the restaurant that evening. On our arrival at 8pm were told the restaurant was closed on Monday nights, so no food, and we decided to leave. If this was the case they had over a month to inform me of this but chose not to!! To add more insult I was charged a fee for not staying, they mentioned that they could not resell the room, but as it seemed we would have been the only people there I think this a little strong, the place was deserted when we arrived and had to ring bells to get any attention.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon187063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouic, Haute Vienne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Lovely house, very French and within walking distance of Cognac. We only stayed one night, but the room although small was confortable and clean. The evening meal that we had was of excellent quality and served in a very nice dining room, the bar had every type of Cognac you could imagine as well as all the usual drinks, and we found the owners to be very friendly and the service very good. Would we go there again, yes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnFR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east coast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Not easy to find in the residential streets above Cognac, an attractive old house with good views down the valley. Unfortunately, these houses do not lend themselves well to conversion and though the ground floor area was excellent, small high ceilinged bedrooms with large windows had been carved out what must have once been a lovely first floor. Ditto with the bathroom which was perfectly adequate but I could hear every word our neighbours said - luckily they were Dutch so their conversation remains private! The front & rear of the house both had terraces, with a good sized dining room with breakfast room off. The owners were very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. We had a very acceptable supper and good breakfast with lovely ham and loads of coffee.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#9 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Breuil

Property: Domaine du Breuil
Address: 104 rue Robert Daugas, 16100 Cognac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Breuil 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Domaine du Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Breuil Cognac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing