We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cognac experience”
Review of Domaine du Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine du Breuil
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in June 2012. The hotel is in a grand old mansion on a large property on the outskirts of Cognac. The rooms are comfortable with 12 foot high ceilings and large windows, but like any converted house, the acoustic separation is challenged. We did not take breakfast, but did eat dinner at the hotel both nights. The food was excellent. Our host was very genial, and shared his great depth of knowledge about Cognac in his cognac bar with 113 different varieties of Cognac. There is a small outdoor pool.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Domaine du Breuil
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

The room and the grounds were very nice, but for the price of the room, we expected a little more... For example: a bath mat, face clothes, hand towels, glasses. And breakfast was a complete rip off. Some toast and coffee and yogurt for 12 euros each is NOT a good value in my book. Likely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Went here in mid october 2011. We were a group of 12 who wanted to enjoy an elegant lunch venue in true french manner. Due to flightproblem we were two hours late for our scheduled visit. This was however met with great understanding. Smoked duck sallad, breast of duck and caramel mousse for dessert was all served and prepared with genuine dedication.
Would most certainly visit Domaine du Breul again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bent_Larvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

One of the previous reviewers had a good phrase: the timeless elegance of a bygone era... yes, it definitely has that about it: a beautiful chateau, sweeping drives, magnificent grounds and gardens which swoop and tumble away into the valley beyond.

The timeless quality was enhanced for us as virtually every other guest on the night was driving a vintage Bentley of one model or another (it's probably the only time my ten year old MX5 has been the newest car in the car park). The Bentleys (and their owners, mostly the same 'vintage' as their cars!) were having a tour around for a week or two, prior to attendance at the Circuit des Remparts weekend in Angouleme. This became an unexpected 'win' for us - in order to accomodate them all together, Madame upgraded us to a superior room on the first floor at the rear of the chateau, which had two huge bay windows looking out over the gardens, pool and the valley beyond. Comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom, free wi fi, and those stunning views. Excellent! This would normally be around the 120 euros mark as opposed to the 95 euros we paid, but I have to say it would be worth the extra if you decide to visit this hotel in future.

The journey across had been very warm indeed, and we decided to take advantage of the pool in the rear gardens. It is not large, but big enough, and we had it to ourselves (the older clientele having done some 'toe dipping' and deciding it was 'a bit fresh' for them..!). The pool has an infinity edge, facing out down the gardens to the valley beyond. After a cooling swim, we lay back on the sunbeds in the sun... it was one of those defining moments on a holiday where you realise you are both completely chilled out and it's perfect.

Our original plan had been to head into Cognac for the evening, but having already seen the hotel restaurant, with its crisp white table linen, silver, and hand written menus, we made the decision to stay put and enjoy the setting and the views. Although the 'Bentley brigade' was having a 30 strong soiree in the adjoining room, we had a delicious relaxing 3 course dinner, together with a bottle of Gascogne Brumont, mineral water, coffees and Grand Marnier, for a little over 90 euros. Service to table was prompt and attentive throughout.

They have every conceivable cognac at the bar - including my favourite Hine, produced locally at Jarnac. Later, as we lay in bed with the casements open wide, watching the lights twinkling across the valley, we could hear the sounds of bon vivant continuing downstairs. I am nowhere near ready to retire yet, but when I do, I hope it's like this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlinthehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

If you are fed up with the sterile environment of the hotel chains I suggest you stay at this delightful chateau where you are made to feel like welcome returning friends. We first stayed here last year in April when we found ourselves in the wrong place without any accomadation. Although we were very late arriving Madame kept the dining room open for us, the food was wonderful. The owners are charming, nothing is too much trouble. If you want 5* glitz and 24 hour room service this is not the place for you, however if you want a timeless elegance of a bygone era you will certainly love it here.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draindoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our last stay in France was in the Domaine de Breuil in Cognac and despite rumours from previous visitors that the local air is pungent with cognac, we did not detect it during our stay ! Our arrival to Cognac was from the east and the journey into the hotel was not that inspiring. When we finally arrived at the Domaine de Breuil it was a pleasant relief, the building looks magnificent. Evidently it was built around 1850 by one of the cognac distillers but is now run as a place to stay for visitors to the many distillers that surround the area. The inside of the building is spectacular, and the room we had was very good except for only 2 small pots of milk to make tea or coffee which seemed a bit mean ? We had a lovely meal in the evening, the waiters were very friendly and helpful and enjoyed a bottle of locally produced rose wine.
A very nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were two couples celebrating two birthdays and booked the package that included a trip to the Martell distillery. The hotel combined old fashioned service and style. Our rooms were lovely having been recently renovated on the second floor - I would guess from some of the reviews that these should be requested. The package was excellent value. The staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. The food was very good and we all had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that were renovated last year.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
1.4 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Cognac
Ibis Cognac
#6 of 10 in Cognac
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Breuil

Address: 104 rue Robert Daugas, 16100 Cognac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range: £88 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Breuil 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine du Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Breuil Cognac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing