We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful family run hotel set in stunning grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine du Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine du Breuil
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful family run hotel set in stunning grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed as family of four in this beautiful family hotel - massive room overlooking the pool and beautifully maintained gardens. The breakfast and evening meal were both of a high standard and we really enjoyed our two night stay here. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N6RDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    73
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
25
130
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The first impressions of the house are exactly as you would expect from the pictures, beautiful and very relaxing. My wife and I spent a wonderful couple of nights here mid-July and loved every minute of it. The house is pretty, tidy in good shape and full of history. The owners/staff were very welcoming and helpful, giving good local advice.

We stayed in the Junior Suite, and I would strongly recommend that you seriously consider taking this slightly more expensive room, it is sooo worth it for the space and seclusion. The room is very big and my wife loved the bath with a view.

I would also strongly recommend that you have an evening meal in the restaurant. The food was very high quality and the service excellent. We sat on the patio and the views over the vineyards just made the meal. We also did the Brueil Cognac tasting of the 3 types of Cognac and that finished off the meal perfectly.

Well done Domaine du Breuil, we will definitely recommend you to our friends and family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boggys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

By chance we booked 5 nights during the Cognac Blues festival, which was excellent, as was our stay at the hotel. we were looking for a good hotel in a secluded location but only a short walk to Cognac centre and this was the perfect choice. the chateau retains it's charm while the bedrooms are renovated to an excellent standard (based on ours) The restaurant was closed during the festival, but, all other services were on offer. We spent a couple of afternoons resting by the pool, after late nights at the festival - great views over the Charente valley. The buffet continental breakfast was good, but a review of the restaurant will have to wait on our next visit; we liked it well enough to return! The owners are very welcoming, and the atmosphere is relaxed.

The hotel is about 20 mins stroll to the central square, then but a few minutes to many of the main sights. Finally their cognac tasting menu is an experience . . . Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this chateau style hotel. We welcomed by the proprietor and shown to our rooms, which of a very good size spotlessly clean, the bathrooms were large and suitable well equipped. A continental breakfast was of a very good quality with a good selection. The restaurant in the evenings was really very good with great and friendly service and first class food. During our stay we given complimentary tickets to visit the Martell Factory. It is a good centre for visiting the Cognac being only walking distance from the town of Cognac.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is only small but offers a great stay from the warm welcome by the hosts to the cognac selection in the bar and the food in the restaurant everything makes you feel 'at home'. The rooms are large with ample space to unpack for a stay of a few days. While it was not quite warm enough during our stay, the swimming pool looked very inviting and the grounds offered a pleasant walk in the sun. The in house wi-fi made it easy to stay in touch with family and friends in Australia. The hotel arranged for a hire car that enabled us to visit places like La Rochelle and Saintes. The hotel is central for exploring Cognac and the surrounding towns and countryside.

Room Tip: Book early and request a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravel008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed four nights here and enjoyed every aspect of our visit. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom facilities very room by french standards. The evening meal options were excellent with a different specials board every night. A must do is the in-house cognac tasting which was much more informative than the three "commercial" tours we did. The staff are very friendly and will assist with any request or problem you may have, just ask. We would highly recommend this chateau as a base for exploring the cognac region or just for a relaxing stay in the french countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We absolutely loved everything about Domaine du Breuil. The location, the beautifully decorated rooms, the surroundings, the friendly owners and staff, the superb food and wines and the truly interesting cognac tasteing. Fully working wi-fi, a nice shop with the house cognac and pineau at good prices and we are relly looking forward to returning when the weather is great so we can have a swim in the gorgeous pool. Recommend a stay at this great place!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, I guess. Have seen three of them, all very beautiful. The view is great fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Cognac
Ibis Cognac
#6 of 10 in Cognac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Breuil

Property: Domaine du Breuil
Address: 104 rue Robert Daugas, 16100 Cognac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Breuil 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine du Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Breuil Cognac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing