We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to do nothing yet there is so...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Cerisier

Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Comfortable seating and the entrance doors Exposed beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Comfortable seating and the entrance doors
Exposed beams
General view of upstairs living area
The kitchen
Dining area and kitchen
Super king size bed
The shower room
Shower
Shady spot by the pool
Perfect for a late evening dip
Relax!
The private garden
Private garden from another angle
Leading up to the gite
The scented white lilac tree in May, just next to the gite.
The Cherry Tree - just reach over and pick!
Full of fruit!
Spring time
Coffee on the balcony
From the pool
Corner of the garden
The height of summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cognac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KBP-in-SY
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A perfect place to do nothing yet there is so much to do”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at Le Cerisier and wish we could have stayed longer. The gite is as seen in the photographs and the owners, John and Yvonne, were warm amd welcoming, full of helpful advise but gave us the space to enjoy their wonderful place uninterupted.
The gite is very well equipped with everything that you could need. The sheets were very good quality and the towels super soft ( the most important things to me wherever we travel). I loved floating round the pool (on the provided inflatables), dozing in the secret garden and sitting on the little verandah until late at night drinking the local rose wine. My husband loved the fact that he could catch up with the Commonwealth Games and Open Golf on TV!
We went to several excellent, free musical events in the area and there were many interesting places to visit - you do need a car.
If you want to slow down and relax this place is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julius n
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect relaxing holiday in”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Le Cerisier in June 2014 and were very impressed with the Gite.The English owners, John and Yvonne,live in the house in the grounds,they were extremely welcoming and very helpful, happily sharing their knowledge of the local area but not intruding on our holiday.
The Gite is very well furnished with everything you would need for a great holiday. The pool was fantastic, the gardens are beautiful and the private courtyard garden with it's sun loungers and bbq was a lovely private area to sit and read and enjoy the sun.
The gite is amazingly well set up, with everything you might need at your disposal. The welcome hamper included red wine, white wine as well as milk , bread,fruit, orange juice - everything you need on arrival! The bathroom (with shower) is beautifully furnished, the bed was really comfortable (very important as I am 6'5!). You can have breakfast, lunch or dinner outside the gite on the private veranda, overlooking the cognac vines.
Yvonne & John couldn't have made us more welcome. I'd thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.
We liked it so much that we have booked to return in September 2014!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped, tranquil amongst the Cognac vines”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We are frequent self catering visitors and this stone built gite, yet with a modern interior, was by far the best we have stayed in in the Cognac/Charente area. Beautifully clean and equipped with everything you would need. Yvonne and John (the owners) were very helpful and friendly. The Welcome pack of food and wine was very well received. The facilities - pool area, private garden, balcony and barbecue were all we could have wished for . A car is necessary to experience the best the area can offer. Nearby Segonzac village useful for bread and Intermarche s/market.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Interior cleanliness and furnishings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ticked every box. Wonderful.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely skilfully converted barn gite set within a private walled garden overlooking a vinyard.The owners John and Yvonne are lovely warm hosts whose own property is adjacent to the gite. We booked the gite as it was located perfectly for house hunting in the Cognac/ Charente area. The gite has a wonderful secure pool and sun lounging area and additionally enjoys its own separate enclosed private decked garden area which is a wonderful sun trap. The main open plan living area is spacious yet cosy and has a very well equipped kitchen, whilst the downstairs good sized double bedroom and shower room are modern , light and airy. Free easy access wifi was very welcome. We loved our short stay here and would not hesitate to come back. John and Yvonne are lovely unobtrusive hosts who will happily share their knowledge of the local restaurants and area. You will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naepocket...
Stepps
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vineyard View”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just sit back, relax and soak up this lovely place to stay. The gite, garden and pool are all superb and the owners are on hand to help and advise. We had a really perfect holiday in Le Cerisier and thoroughly enjoyed exploring this area of France. Yvonne and John are great hosts and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay with them. They have worked very hard to create this little haven and clearly enjoy welcoming guests to share their home. The gite has beautiful views of the vineyards and sits securely within a walled garden. The pool is a hop, skip and jump from the door of the gite and the gorgeous cherry tree presides over the terraced dining area. There are many beautiful places to visit, things to see and plenty to do within easy reach if you can drag yourself away from this comfortable home from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the Gite and the lovely gardens
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RG77
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to stay with everything catered for”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This was an amazing week-long trip. The gite is amazingly well set up, from the living area with comfy sofa bed, great TV and DVD player to the kitchen with everything you might need at your disposal. The welcome hamper included red wine, white wine as well as milk & bread, orange juice - everything you need on arrival! The bathroom (with shower) is beautifully furnished, the bed was really comfortable and there was more than enough space for the travel cot (for our 2 year old) provided (with mattress). There is a pretty private back garden with a BBQ and sun loungers, but we didn't use this too often because we pretty much stayed by the pool all week (in the afternoons particularly, when it got very warm), eating the grapes from the vines above and the hazelnuts growing on the trees. You can have dinner outside the gite in the evening on the private veranda, overlooking the cognac vines. Yvonne & John couldn't have made us more welcome. I'd thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful terrace with swimming pool.
Liked least: The fact it rained on our last day : (
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing