We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you're into booze.. its interesting to visit”
Review of Hennessy Cognac

Hennessy Cognac
Ranked #2 of 9 Tours in Cognac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome Backstage and learn how cognac is produced, take a boat trip and visit the company boutique.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“if you're into booze.. its interesting to visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

the main thing I remember was being amazed by the price of some of the bottles, and their display !

Well worth a visit if you're interested in booze, production, tasting and just being amazed by how much this stuff can set you back!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    94
    18
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A taste of Cognac!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

When my husband and I were in France in September 2013 we had the opportunity to tour the Hennessey Cognac building and museum. We traveled by small boat from the main building to the opposite site where the museum now is housed. Many old barrels, a complete explanation of how the Cognac is made, and then a delightful tasting back at the main building at the end of the tour.

Not a bad way to spend an hour or so in Cognac.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“When in Rome.... (or Cognac)”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Take the tour! ......You get taken along the Charente in a comfortable river boat to the warehouses where there is a number of different mediums set up to teach you about the involved processes.
Our tour guide was brilliant, a German lady with a fantastic grasp of both French and English and she explained everything very clearly in English and always checked for understanding. The tour group was small - probably 15 of us. Nice, reserved clientele.
The best bit of course was the tasting back at the bar at HQ. XO with a piece of dark chocolate. Don't mind if we do! The tour takes an hour but give yourself an hour and a half just in case you want to browse and buy afterwards.
Within a 5 minute stroll we were along the cobbled pavements behind Hennessey and in the centre of Cognac itself.
Worthwhile, informative and a fun thing to do!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliastefanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go to Martell!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The tour was informative and the English speaking guide was very knowledgeable, however we visited the Martell house last year and felt that was more value for money. As mentioned by an earlier TA you are better off doing the 11euro tour and paying for additional tastings at the end. Also we purchased a bottle of the Hennessy Fine only to discover it was cheaper in the SuperU by more than 6euros!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 481Graeme_Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An interesting and well presented cellar tour”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having visited a champagne cellar the previous week, this won on presentation; admittedly lots of barrels, but model scenes of cooperage, distillation etc made this more interesting and in our judgement enough so to entertain older children - who get a grape juice instead of alcohol at the end! In line with other commentaries, we would recommend the cheapest tour and determined/non driving drinkers should buy a bottle separately and sample in a more relaxed setting. A visit to Cognac probably doesn't make sense unless you do a tour like this - which does involve a boat crossing of the river.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FarmersBoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hennessy Cognac also viewed

 
Cognac, Charente
 

Been to Hennessy Cognac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing