We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Francois Premier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Francois Premier
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Super staff super hotel a little expensive but the hotel was well fitted out and just about worth it even for the great service. Breakfast was good and their choice of cocktails and cognacs excellent. Very happy to return their next time. Parking at the back very welcome

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank djsmyth100550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    57
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
97
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent my 1st anniversary weekend in this beautifull and accomodating place. Since the moment of the reservation Valerie, Chantal and Sophie have been very helpfull and kind. I have to say that I have been very demanding but what they realised has been something absolutely outstanding. The champagne, the flowers and the cake were amazing and taken into the room always with perfect timing. The room was amazing with a big maybe better enormous bed lovely bath and shower. My girlfriend and me simply loved the hotel and the experience. Beautiful the swimming pool and the turkish bath. AMAZING!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 33.. Extremely beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stay in this hotel for a week. As a hotel manager I am a high demanding customer but the people at Francois Premiere exceed my expectations. Impeccable full service bar, nice and hot breakfast and even the pool are some of the amenities. The location is spectacular near basically all the Cognac houses.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolomeo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great hotel, centrally located in the heart of Cognac. Many Cognac houses within 15-20mins walking distance of hotel.
Nice and renovated hotel. Modern look to it. Room was spacious, and bathroom clean with good water pressure.
We had booked parking as well, but totally missed it when we got there. Pretty much the big white door in front of the hotel. Round about in the traffic circle and park in front of the door and there is a keypad to buzz in. Although you may have to check in first.
I was travelling with my uncle and we got a pretty big room. I had asked for a quiet room and got one at the end of the hall.
Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Had asked which Cognac houses we will be visiting and gave us a voucher for a 10% discount at Remy Martin (although I forgot about it and did not use it, my bad).
Definitely recommended. I will stay at this hotel if I visit Cognac again.
Did not try any of the ammenities. They do have indoor pool in the basement. It is small though.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, as they are located in the central round-a-bout in the middle of town. It is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T33D33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Our second time at this hotel. Fantastic location in the centre of cognac. Friendly welcome and bags of off street parking. Spacious and comfortable room and a very good breakfast. They could just do with full time bar staff in the evening, but that's very minor given the overall experience. Will definitely return next year.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanEmMiaandEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a weekend in Cognac. The hotel exceeded our expectations in most ways. In simple words it is excellent - the rooms are spacious, the bathroom is nice, the breakfast is delicios, the staff is very friendly, the location is perfect, and best of all, rooms are offered at a decent rate. The pool in the basement is nice after a long day on the countryside.

Next time we come to Cognac, this is where we want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Movi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel. Nothing more to say - but I have to 'cos trip advisor requires 200 characters - lovely room, lovely people, lovely location. We shall be going back there. Oh, and if you do, check out Le Bistrot de Claude, the food there is fantastic..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1holidayseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#4 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#9 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois Premier

Property: Hotel Francois Premier
Address: 3 Place Francois 1er | 3, Place François 1er, 16100 Cognac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francois Premier 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its privileged location (in the center of Cognac), Francois Premier Hotel is your ideal base for your travels on foot (your car being parked inside). Its spa with swimming pool, hammam and massage will guarantee intense relaxing moments, as well as the "rooftop" garden. Its exceptional cocktail bar (both in its products and its barman) welcomes you for nice evenings (until 2am from Tuesday to Saturday). All this in a modern setting, perfectly balancing the elegance of the mansions of the 19th century with the audacity of contemporary design For a great stay in Cognac ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Francois Premier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing