We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What can we say – WOW!!!”
View of the Cottage from the pool in the evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Cottage from the pool in the evenings
Front view of the Cottage from the private garden Modern interior looking towards the German kitchen area from the sitting room area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View of the Cottage from the pool in the evenings
Front view of the Cottage from the private garden
Modern interior looking towards the German kitchen area from the sitting room area
Master bedroom on mezzanine with king sized bed
Master bedroom on the mezzanine showing stairs and sitting room area
Master bedroom on the mezzanine with king size bed and full tempur mattress
Sitting room area with modern Danish furniture
Main wetroom with walk in shower, flat basin and toilet.
The second, twin bedroom. Both beds with tempur mattresses
Hotel grade table and chairs on the main decking.  Eat out in style!
The carefully landscaped pool area with river-gravel areas and double sun beds
Pool area with double sun bed.  The pool is 12x6m plus a 4x4m steps area for dipping your toes!
Details of the pool area
View from the cottage garden.
Sit on the stone bench beneath the tree and enjoy the peace!
Bois Blanc from the air.  The cottage in it's own elevated garden, surrounded by vines & sunflowers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cognac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian T
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can we say – WOW!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say – WOW!!!
Fantastic from start to finish.
Accommodation – 5 star luxury with character included. Superb pool, had a job to extract ourselves from it. The setting is quiet, relaxing and beautiful.
Chris the owner is very informative, friendly and a great host. We had a fantastic day with Chris, India and Willow down by the Charante river canoeing and swinging off the tree swing into the river.
Overview – Chris went out of his way to ensure our stay was fabulous, with information on what was happening in the area before we arrived, a lovely welcome pack when we first got there and lots of information on where to eat and places to visit. The Fete-du-Cognac was a really enjoyable evening.
All in all we had one of our best holidays ever (and we’ve had a few!!).
Ian, Tracey, Gemma and Georgia

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 27 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We only had one week with Chris, Mandie, India & Willow, oh how we wish it was 2 weeks or longer !!!. The cottage was superb, spotlessly clean, with welcome basket on arrival and fresh bread every morning. The Davis family were not in the least intrusive, but there when needed.
It really is 1st class. To be invited to their own home was way and above what was expected.
If you are looking for peace and quiet, with outstanding quality and the best welcome.
Then book here. You will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsbury
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday getaway”
Reviewed 23 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We all agreed that our holiday at Bois Blanc was our best holiday ever!! Chris, Mandie, India and Willow made this a holiday we will never forget, their hospitality surpassed anything we have ever experienced on a self catering holiday, they all go the extra mile to ensure you have the most relaxing break possible. The cottage was fantastic, with everything you need to make it home from home, with a few luxuries thrown in that you wouldn't have at home!! The welcome basket was just what was needed after a long drive from the ferry. The daily bread deliveries and weather forecasts were a great touch. The countryside surrounding Bois Blanc is some of the prettiest we have come across, there are lovely drives along the Charante river which wind through sleepy villages. Chris's knowledge of the area is a great asset and he is able to point you to all the best places. We were sorry to leave when our two weeks were up and could have happily stayed longer. I hope we can return very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forking
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything it says it is and more!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011

This was our first visit to Bois Blanc, and it was fab! The gite itself is of high quality and soooo clean and everything provided - even down to the cotton wool pads in the bathroom! It had everything we needed. The meal basket that Chris and Mandie provided after a long drive was perfect - a wonderful welcome. The pool area is fantastic and our girls loved it - Mandie, Chris, India and Willow really were the perfect hosts who were on hand, helpful but not at all intrusive. We had a wonderful week here and felt so relaxed - we highly recommend this wonderful gite, surroundings and region - we would love to return one day. We also found the location ideal for day trips not that we did many as we didn't want to leave such a wonderful relaxed place!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaannek...
huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So good this was our 2nd trip...”
Reviewed 3 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

...and we are looking forward to the 3rd! Another wonderful holiday at Bois Blanc. Home from home accommodation which relaxes you the minute you arrive. The peace and tranquility of Bois Blanc, the setting, the accommodation, the quality of the fixtures and fittings, the hosts...put it all together to make a 5* break. Chris, Mandie, India and Willow are amazing hosts without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble. The pool is great for the children (and us!) and we come away from Bois Blanc knowing we have had a wonderful rest...shame we do have to leave! The first accommodation in France we have been to that is what it says on the website!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flynn1966
Bedford, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our best family holiday - EVER!”
Reviewed 31 August 2009 for a stay in August 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Bois Blanc provided my family and I our best family holiday ever! Its location in the Cognac region is unsurpassed - peaceful, stress busting and perfect. Chris and Mandie who run Bois Blanc (the best hosts) provided us with an upmarket yet completely unpretentious, relaxed break. The gite is beautiful, it fits into the countryside surrounding it, yet inside it is modern and minimalist. The pool provided hours of entertainment for all of us but particularly for the children. Our children are 15 and 10 but neither one ever complained of feeling bored or dissatisfied. Fresh bread was delivered to the door every morning by Chris, who brought a different type each day to try! Chris also provided us with invaluable hints and tips of where to visit in the area. He also arranged some excellent Cognac tours for us, one to Henesseys and one to a local grower. It was absolutely perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battymatt...
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Five star, absolutely wonderful, a real gem”
Reviewed 6 August 2009 for a stay in July 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We've holidayed in French self catering accommodation for a couple of decades now and the quality has been... well... on the whole inferior to what you'd get in the UK. Until we found Bois Blanc...

We knew instantly from the Bois Blanc website that this was something really, really special - and, compared to what we were used to paying in the South of France, the rent was reasonable. The 'look' is boutique hotel. Very modern and minimalist. Think 'Living etc' magazine.

From our first email contact with Mandie and Chris, the owners, we received the 5 star treatment - very friendly and informative. And our expectations continued to be exceeded when they sent their information pack which explained the 'welcome food pack' included ingredients for a full meal with cognac.

This 5 star treatment continued when we arrived when we were invited to take complementary drinks around the pool. The house itself was just as good as the website, if not better. Top quality fixtures and fittings plus fluffy bath robes, 'White Company' bedding, even Royal Worcester crockery - not to mention the state of the art German kitchen (spacious granite work surface), circular glass table with stools, modern sofa and armchair, and the Bose speakers on the Mac / ipod sound system / DVD player (note, no terrestrial or satellite TV). There is also a second bedroom downstairs (twin beds). The house is cleaned and bedding / towels changed at the end of the first week.

The main bedroom (mezzanine, so not very private if people are in the living area downstairs, but we didn't find this a problem) was boutique hotel in style - fantastic, with plenty of storage space. The (downstairs) bathroom is an Italian tiled wet room complete with sink with waterfall-style tap. Facilities include dishwasher, washing machine, large fridge (with small freezer compartment / ice box), microwave, oven, modern hob, kettle and stacks of space to store your food shopping. No toaster or bigger freezer. No mugs, just cups and saucers - so you may want to bring your own if you like a long coffee in the morning!

And of course there was a huge L-shaped pool outside (which, in the future, will be shared with other guests in the other (2 person) property that is in the process of being renovated).

The 5 star welcome continued when Chris announced that he provided free bread every morning which he fetched from the local Artisan boulangerie; we were treated to a different loaf every day - it was like Christmas, seeing what 'Santa' had left in his sack outside the kitchen!

Then, on top of that, Chris arranged for a free private tour round a local cognac producer who produces Eau de Vie for Remy Martin to turn into cognac. We were also invited to watch Mandie's blues band which was rehearsing in their home - a super evening when we really felt we were amongst friends!

The location is superb - neat, gentle rolling countryside with cognac vines - not as touristy as some parts of France, but a true hidden gem. There are good local amenities (local shops in the nearby village and supermarkets within drivable distances). You can get to a reasonable beach (estuary) in around 45 minutes but the better (outstanding!) beaches are around one hour away. The area is great for cycling, too, and there are so many Roman remains and chateaux to look at you'll be spoiled for choice!

You really get the feeling that the owners have invested stacks of love, care and attention to detail into getting this property 'just right' - and the service that goes with it, from the first email contact onwards.

Finally... you can pay the rent in sterling or by PayPal which saves you the hefty bank charges of having to pay in Euros. This is something we appreciated having been fleeced for a total of 50BGP in bank charges last year when paying a villa deposit, then the rental balance in Euros.

So, all in all, our experience of Blois Blanc was outstanding. The trouble is, it's going to be pretty impossible to find anything else that comes close! Which is why we're not even bothering to try to find somewhere else for next summer; fingers crossed we'll be returning to Bois Blanc again!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing