We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rose des Vins

La Rose des Vins
Ranked #86 of 502 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“pleasant meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

we visited this restaurant in October 2013. It's a small pleasant wine bar with food. we had a good fois gras starter followed by Kidneys and my wife had a small dorade which was a disappointment. there was very efficient service by the one waiter! the wines were varied and clearly were the focus for French customers who were there, rather than the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 700tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    46
    11
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a very good meal here. We were looking for another place and spotted this one and just stayed here. It is small and not very efficiently laid out, they turned away too many people, but food was excellent. If you are trying to get away from the bustle of the Port area, you will do well here. Excellent value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JST001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A nice break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were on vacation with friends and children, and we wanted a place for light lunch but good. Unpretentious with good wine and outside.
What all tourists seek !
And we found it here.

Very friendly service, very good variety of dishes. Excellent dessert.

A nice break from our tour of the city.

Small outdoor seating

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cestpasfaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal & Ambience at a Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We ate at La Rose des Vins on a quiet Monday in September, and really enjoyed the experience.

The food was excellent. I do not eat meat or fish, but the waiter organised a delicious mixture of a goat's cheese salad, roasted veg and potatoes - delicious!

Given our experience with the restaurants in La Rochelle was average, particularly around the port, this was a great find.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonanMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Make sure you book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We found our way to La Rose des Vins as it is located in a back street quite a way from the main area. The first evening we turned up without a booking and was turned away. We asked to book a table for the following evening determined to give it a go as so highly rated in trip advisor. Firstly I really struggled with the menu being a non meat eater and also not keen on fish with heads and tails on or raw fish. I explained this to the waiter and he was able to ask the chef to cook a piece of salmon for me. The food was good but I wouldn't say excellent. The restaurant has a good feel to it but is tiny and they were turning away people all evening. The other downside was that we waited over an hour for our food to be served and drunk more wine than we intended due to the wait.

There are so many restaurants to choose from in La Rochelle I would suggest that you just go for any as I feel it's just pot luck there and you will struggle if your a vegetarian so good luck with that!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rose des Vins also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Rose des Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing