We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Canot

Le Canot
Ranked #356 of 504 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Avoid this awful restaurant by all means. Food is simply awful, I would not give this food to my dog! Service was poor, my friend had his beer poured all over his back as waiter stumbled and his whole tray fell. Next waiter dropped french fries on table etc.... Owner of this restaurant should be ashamed!!!!!!!! We left and refused to pay bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    77
    64
    53
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do some research beforehand to avoid making the same mistake we did .....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Arriving in La Rochelle for the beginning of our holiday at around 8pm on a Saturday evening, we were immediately overwhelmed by the busy and bustling Old Port area and main street but, having worked up an appetite following our day of travelling, chose to eat here simply due to its apparent popularity and because pizza was on the menu for a fussy teen!!
However, once we were seated, service was extremely slow and staff, few and far between. Our drinks took almost 30 minutes to arrive and our meal, much longer. The food was mediocre at best although with quite an expensive price tag - we couldn't have made a worse choice if we had tried!!
Just goes to show, it certainly pays to do your research in advance - we didn't and paid a high price for a very poor meal. Won't be doing that again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cehvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Canot Can Not serve a decent meal.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Go to McDonalds , the food, service and presentation is better. I swear half my food was out of a tin, and the other half we never received. I would say it's one if the worse places we've had the misfortune to eat in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellenemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A low point in our visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Of all the cloned waterfront bistrots in La Rochelle we unfortunately picked this one. Indifferent service, indifferent wine (albeit house wine) and a meal that was not well presented or even tasty.

We chose gambas flambéed in cognac and Gambas flambéed in Pastis, neither of which had any indication of being flambéed or having any taste of the liquor described. Seafood which is not peeled should not be served with the sauce over the shells as it makes the whole experience uncomfortable.

The service was indifferent and we are are a little tired of the best seats (ie those outside overlooking the waterfront being reserved for smokers polluting the dining experience. This last issue is not exclusively the problem with this restaurant.

No worth further consideration.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Restaurant on the quayside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

After passing and looking at set menus for a few places to eat about town we settled here as it had one of the cheapest menus, although offering more expensive menus and an ‘a-la-carte’ as well. As with all of the eating places in La Rochelle fish food figures heavily. The food was good, service attentive, little English spoken. Overall a pleasant meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Canot also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Canot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing