We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding stay - Thank you!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel La Rochelle Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay - Thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Novotel in La Rochelle for four nights and used it as a base to visit the town and to explore the Ile de Ré. I selected it partly because I've used Novotels in the past and have very rarely been left disappointed, and because it was the only hotel I could find in the town that had free parking. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious, and the bathroom clean. The hotel has an outside pool, restaurant and bar. We ate in the restaurant twice as we found the price extremely competitive with any of the restaurants by the bay. Only negative is that breakfast was a little steep at €15 per head but the selection was excellent. We will definitely stay here again should we return to La Rochelle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isleworthblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    431
    121
    23
    9
See reviews for
330
274
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Choose this hotel as a standard business type hotel for our first 2 nights after traveling from Toronto, - plane, bus, train. Meet all requirements pleasant reception team, lovely setting on the edge of the park which was a great way to wander to the centre of town or the seafront and a decent restaurant. Had a great steak on our first night and breakfasts gave lots of choices

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radioeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Managed to get the last room (or so I was told) in this hotel and it cost me dearly - 713 euros room only for four nights for two of us, but we wanted to be sure we had a hotel with ample car parking and this hotel certainly does. The hotel is a little difficult to find, as it is situated on a one-way system in the park area and the sat-nav didn't like it, but look out for the little red and white signs indicating the hotel's location.

We received a warm welcome (in French - we do speak French, although they did offer to speak in English, but as we are studying the language, we persevered and I am sure it is appreciated by the staff). Our room was on the first floor overlooking the swimming pool. The room had the usual Novotel furniture and fittings,including a kettle with small supplies of tea, coffee and milk and also a mini-bar, but be aware, as is usual with mini bars, the drinks are expensive. The bathroom had a bath with a power shower and a supply of Novotel toiletries. As with all Novotels I have stayed in, the toilet is separate.

The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes away from the Old Harbour and it is a pleasant and safe walk, even at night - do walk through the park with the peacocks and donkeys with very long legs! (open during daylight hours only). The hotel is located quite close to the road, but this is quiet at night and the room is doubled glazed and air conditioned anyway.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel, as at 15 euros, we felt this was too expensive. We did not take evening meals in the hotel either, as these were also expensive and the menu is rather limited. There is far more choice in the Old Harbour area (recommend Le P'tit Admiral).

All in all, we felt the hotel ticked all the boxes - clean, quiet, friendly, free WifFi (if a little slow at times) and ample free car parking and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twirlydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a fine hotel for a short break in La Rochelle. It is but a short walk into the town and everything is easily accessible. Room was fine, A/C was effective, bed comfortable. Breakfast was really excellent, much better than expected. We were very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JST001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Good Hotel. Lovely towels. Located in park ten minutes walk from Place de Verdun. Didn't eat here. WiFi ok. One moan. Cardboard cups for in-room refreshments in a 4* hotel ! That has changed since last year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Friendly staff and a nice room. Menu in the restaurant is comprehensive. Its easy to get into La Rochelle as its only a short walk to the old port. The area is nice as there is a park adjacent tot he hotel. Its all you would expect from a Novotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GabbynBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked a twin room & when we arrived we found it was a double bed with a sofa pull out bed not what you pay 125euro a night for.....we got a better value room in an ibis for 49euro which was actually a twin room, when we asked at reception for a proper twin room we were told that all the rooms were the same.......so why mis-advertise?.... I have travelled the world and stayed in a variety of grades of accommodation & this room was totally mis-advertised as it was not a twin room( a room with 2 proper beds)
Staff tried to blame the Internet sales provider. Don't stay here, plenty of nicer hotels down by the port.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
0.3 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#5 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel La Rochelle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel La Rochelle Centre

Property: Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Address: Av de la Porte Neuve, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#11 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel La Rochelle Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel La Rochelle Centre enjoys a peaceful setting next to one of the major parks in La Rochelle. 10 Min walk from the centre of town, the Vieux Port (Old Harbour) and the beach, the hotel offers 94 rooms including 50 family rooms. Enjoy cuisine rich in regional flavours in our restaurant. Our outdoor swimming pool in a calm setting along with plenty of things to do in the local area make this 3 star hotel perfect for a holiday in La Rochelle with your partner or family. Free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel La Rochelle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel La Rochelle
La Rochelle Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing