We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A well situated hotel with good free parking and easy to find using sat nav. The town centre and bus station are a short walk either by going through the park or via the road, as is the harbour area and beach. The restaurant was very good and the staff, particularly Henri, were helpful and attentive. The breakfast was excellent, there was so much choice and plenty of it. We felt that it was on the expensive side and assumed that this may be a reflection of the business and corporate customers. We had opted for the half board package, so the menu choice was more limited for dinner, but still enjoyable. There are of course numerous restaurants, cafes' and bars in the town, so you do have a lot of options for lunch and dinner. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was of a reasonable size and the bed was very comfortable. There was a mini bar and a digital safe. The person maintaining our room did a really good job. The bar prices, as mentioned in other reviews, are a little on the high side. We enjoyed our visit and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our second floor room overlooked the park. There was a small road alongside the park that could be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely hotel, clean and modern with very friendly staff, who were always willing to help in any way possible. Outstanding breakfast with a vast choice and delightfully presented. Pleasant bar. The hotel is very efficiently run and there are always a lot of staff on hand. Lovely surroundings in a pleasant park, ten minutes walk from the beach or port. It costs 6-7 euros by taxi at night from the main tourist area around the port back to the hotel if you dont fancy the walk.
Thanks for a lovely stay.
Beccy, Steve & Ros

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Conveniently located close the the center, only a 10 minute walk to the harbour. It's a Novotel, so if you are familiar with this chain you know excactly what to expect. It's not the latest version of the Novotel room desigh, but still OK. We staid here in August - peak season in La Rochelle - and were able to make a last minute booking for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Great location on the edge of a Park and only a 10 minutes walk into town. Satnav address puts you straight on it although it doesn't look as though it does take you through the park. Avoid the Bar as a it's expensive with a pint and a half of lager is over €11 which even for a hotel is steep.

We would use this hotel again though and the girls enjoyed the outdoor pool. Also worth noting that they had an outdoor table tennis setup. The hotel also has a large car park.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Travelling with two of our grandchildren, we stopped in La Rochelle for a couple of days.
From our arrival to departure the staff were always friendly and available. The location is ideal a 10-15 minute walk from the beach and old port. Our room was not massive but certainly more than adequate, We ate in one night and were impressed by the quality of the food and service, the wine list was small but well chosen but relatively expensive.

The pool is outside and quite small but its there. Despite being close to the centre of town the hotel site is well isolated and i would think all the rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green-David-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have just returned from our holiday and spent three nights at the Novotel in La Rochelle.

The hotel has a very good location - on the edge of a park leading to the centre and the beach area. It was easy to find and has a large car park for guests.

The room was a good standard and whilst not huge, made good use of the space with a sofa that converted into two single beds. The beds folded away into the sofa and were already made up with bedding and so within a minute or so the children could be in bed!

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful throughout the hotel. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and had plenty of choice. The only small negative would be that there was an extra cost for breakfast and given the cost of the room I would have expected this to be included.

The hotel also had an adequate outdoor pool, table tennis and Xbox in the bar area.

In summary I would recommend this hotel for families going to the area and would return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank GavinJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We checked in for 2 family rooms. We found the service good, with helpful directions and knowledgeable staff directions.

We found the hotel a bit tricky to find as its down a one way road, but eventually picked it up on the gps.

Its near the port of La Rochelle (about a 10 min walk) so was quite convenient. We didn't find the breakfast good value at 15 euro, but there was a cheaper option for a croissants and coffee at 4 euro. Our tip is to have breakfast at one of the many cafes near the port area with a great selection of sandwiches and patisseries.

It was also useful to get aquarium tickets from reception instead of having to wait in the queues at the aquarium.

the rooms were good, with all the regular things you would expect in a 4 star place. We got a good deal on the net for a family room and it had a sleeper couch which could fit an extra adult.
There is also a pool, but we didn't use it because it was in the shade.

Room Tip: Get the family room if you have more than 2 travelers to save costs. 3rd floor where we were on was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJ_NZ_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
0.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Brises
Hotel Les Brises
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre Ville
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel La Rochelle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel La Rochelle Centre

Address: Av de la Porte Neuve, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#11 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: £89 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel La Rochelle Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel La Rochelle Centre enjoys a peaceful setting next to one of the major parks in La Rochelle. 10 Min walk from the centre of town, the Vieux Port (Old Harbour) and the beach, the hotel offers 94 rooms including 50 family rooms. Enjoy cuisine rich in regional flavours in our restaurant. Our outdoor swimming pool in a calm setting along with plenty of things to do in the local area make this 3 star hotel perfect for a holiday in La Rochelle with your partner or family. Free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel La Rochelle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel La Rochelle
La Rochelle Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing