We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent hotel 3 star plus !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Yachtman

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Yachtman
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
london england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“an excellent hotel 3 star plus !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed for two nights in june, the room/ bathoom were very nice with air con. beds good, friendly service and very good breakfasts.
the location was superb.

enough said !


s posner

Room Tip: perhaps avoid the noisy front rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    152
    96
    34
    15
See reviews for
42
227
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My niece and I spent a delightful week in La Rochelle and were delighted with the hotel. It wasin a wonderful situation for getting around. The bedroom was so comfortable and homely and the breakfasts were simply delicious. Thhe only disappointment was the there was no longer a fish restaurant in the establishment. Something that we were both looking forward to.

Room Tip: We were allocated rm342 from where we had a wonderful view of the swimming pool and which was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I thought this hotel was great, especially for the price. One bit of advice - I did not get a room with a "view". My room faced the pool and was very quiet. Some in my group that got rooms facing the street complained of noise at night - I did not have that problem at all.
I would stay here again. The place was neat and clean and the hotel staff was helpful, friendly and all around amazing.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerzguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Small charming hotel right on one of the main yacht basins, making it ideal to walk to either the Maritime Museum, Aquarium, Tourism Office, the Towers, or stroll the old part of town. Staff were particularly welcoming and helpful and spoke English. A secure underground car park is available at nearby Hotel Nicholas, two streets behind. Despite the (unseasonal ?) rain and cold temperatures the room was cosy, clean and quiet with a big bath and separate toilet. On the recommendation of hotel staff we dined at nearby Le Vin restaurant on the 1st floor with views of the yacht harbour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Nice house 2 minutes walk away from the harbour of La Rochelle and it's restaurants or the aquarium.
We had a specialoffer for 2 nights, which was of good value. The room was on the street side but still quiet at night (but you must close the windows, there are pubs around with people shouting around till 2.00 p.m). Room have climatisation and are vintage style (blue/wooden/yacht style) but clean.
The bathroom is separate from the wc and is quite big compared to the room.
We found the beds comfortable and had good nights.
We didn't take the breakfast.
The personnel is always available and helpful.
Parking commodities are 5 minutes walk away from the Hotel (at Hotel St Nicolas). Pool wasn't available as it was cold outside.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We loved this hotel. Nice big comfortable room with massive bed overlooking the harbour. The staff were so welcoming and helpful and no problem accepting the dog (although an €10 charge). The hotel has secure parking nearby, another €10 I think, but well worth it as very little parking around, even in off-peak January. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment.
One tip - beware of the Le Rochelle one way system which seems to take you around the whole town before you can navigate back to the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and get a large bed with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We arrived in La Rochelle (early October 2011) without a booking and walked in to try for a room for 2 nights, we immediately picked up on the feel of this place, just like our favourite local hotel back home in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia - The Shipwright Arms. We were right, this hotel is spot on, value for money, great staff, spotless room with good facilities, best location, quiet of a night, good restaurant and a lovely courtyard pool which we overlooked.
Not bad for the last room left as there was a jazz festival on the coming weekend.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of our friends (but note that we are in our 60's please).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Marina (and hence the main road along the waterfront may have a better view bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ross h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bord'O
Hotel Le Bord'O
#31 of 48 in La Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Axe Hotel
Axe Hotel
#24 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#15 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#14 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles La Rochelle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Yachtman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Yachtman

Property: Le Yachtman
Address: 23 quai Valin | Vieux Port Centre, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Yachtman 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city of La Rochelle, The Yachtman Hotel is the ideal departure point to sail away.Only a few steps away, you will find the Aquarium, The Towers of La Rochelle, its fancy "Old Port" and its historical center.With its close proximity to the train Station (500 meters) as well as most points of interest in the city, The Yachtman Hotel is the obvious place to stay for a cruise on land.The Yachtman Hotel and its crew will be glad to have you discovering our treasures such as the heated swimming pool and its patio, or the generous continental breakfast served in-room or in the breakfast room facing the sailing boats in the Old port.Of course we offer free Wi-Fi connection and we do have some parking places available on request. Welcome on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Yachtman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Yachtman La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing