We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed 10 days and were very impressed with the Mercure. It was our fault that we thought that La Rochelle was a seaside resort and that the hotel would have a pool. The town beach
was very poor and to hire two sunbeds and a parasol was E25 per day with no mattress!
If we had done the two weeks it would have cost E350 !
The hotel is good and the town is superb, lots of historic towers and buildings ,great street dining and passing entertainers.Only just over an hours flight from Bristol
Dave B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandjanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    423
    184
    62
    21
See reviews for
79
496
57
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Opfikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Rooms all extremely small, despite fairly high price; decided not to stay. After appealing to the manager, and pointing out that we were frequent guests at Accor hotels, we were transferred to a decent size room at a nearby Novotel at the same (advance payment) room rate; the corresponding credit was transferred from the Mercure to the Novotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jacek1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pari, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is good and has a proper service. Unfortunately, rooms are very tiny for the price. You barely have space to move around the bed. There is no bathtub, only a shower. Disappointing for a 4 star hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank malisguewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel was ok until we were talking one night and next door banged on door for us to be quiet. I am 6 months pregnant so its hardly party central! Not a nice feeling to have to worry about keeping quiet while on holiday and wanting to do all the things you have more time to do on hols!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We chose this hotel by reason of its central location close by the Old Port. That is one of its main features, along with free car parking and a pleasant modern nautical-style ambience. The WiFi is free and it works decently. The staff are mostly friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side, with a bathroom scarcely bigger than the one we had on the ferry at the beginning of our journey to France - though we must say, the use of space was quite inventive. The aircon was welcome and worked well. Tired after walking round the Old Port, we decided unexpectadly to dine in the restaurant. It rather surpassed our expectations in the food department, though the restaurant itself was quiet and lacked ambience. Breakfast was good too, and so, all in all we were happy. You need to shop around a bit for the best room rates, or it can be a bit pricey. Still a good option if you plan to spend time in the Old Port and its various attractions (aquarium and maritime museum close by).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although we thought about staying at a B&B in La Rochelle, the location of Mercure Vieux Port Sud won us over. We walked everywhere - to the sights, museums, and restaurants. The Internet in the lobby was available at all times, very useful if you don't travel with your own computer. Our two-day stay was enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff. Free parking on the premises was a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devorah33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#16 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#17 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud

Property: Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Address: Quai Louis Prunier, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#14 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outer dock of the Vieux Port (old port), next to the new aquarium and between the historic town centre of La Rochelle and the new port area. Restaurant, bar, parking, meeting rooms (for 700 people). Airconditioned rooms (including 4 rooms for guests with limited mobility). Our restaurant will be closed on weekends from December 8 2006 until February 11 2007 inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud Hotel La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing