We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with parking but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location with parking but.......”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We chose this hotel because parking can be a problem in La Rochelle. It satisfied our needs in this respect and was well located.
The room was adequate and clean.
However when we asked for more tea bags for the complimentary tray (2 only were given) the staff were unhelpful. None available at reception and we were sent to the bar. The barman then phoned reception to confirm it was ok, then begrudgingly gave us two more after trying to charge us.
The hotel was expensive and we've never had a problem like his before.
OK, so it wasn't that big a deal but did dampen our experience a little!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PennyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    443
    197
    66
    23
See reviews for
84
532
57
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A very good location on the harbour, modern and very good reception staff, polite and very helpful and effective.
Excellent breakfast and a beautiful view from the dining room.
WiFi free and good but would not work in room on third floor but did in corridor and elsewhere.
External noise in summer disturbed well into the night, good car parking, tea and coffee making in room.

Room Tip: Harbour view great but noise outside into early hours when we were there (August).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irthlingborough43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Perfect little room for our needs. Very clean and comfortable and an ideal base for staying in the pretty town of La Rochelle. Lovely view of the port from room 43, and quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. Car park is a real bonus. Having previously paid more to stay in another hotel in the town which was grubby and expensive, we were pleasantly surprised, and will use Mercure again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Positives - Location, walking distance to town centre but still far enough away to be quiet at night, views from restaurant, free car parking. Noise from restaurant extraction fans between 7.00pm and 10.00pm. in room.

Negatives - small rooms,high price,cost of breakfast at 15 euros ( great breakfast at nearby cafe for 5.60 euros. No outside space,could do with garden or small pool.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postpat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Rooms not huge but very clean and everything worked fine. Great location to get into town by foot. Free parking and relatively easy access. Very friendly staff. Price is matched to quality.

Can't beat LacRochelle in summer !

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
versailles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Excellent location, but the positives end there. We arrived in the late afternoon and were left waiting over an hour for our two rooms to be prepared. Very poor communication from the staff on reception as we had to keep returning to remind them that we were still waiting on the room. Rooms are about as spacious as a filing cabinet and the walls are paper thin - we could hear the man snoring in the room next door. Mattress was hard and lumpy. Fittings and bathroom unit smack of low-grade hotels and are not up to scratch for a so-called 4-star hotel. The carpet in the corridor (4th floor) was quite grotty and stained and there was a definite air of delapidation about the place. All very disappointing for the price - luckily La Rochelle made up for the poor accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the Port or even better get them to transfer you to a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#19 of 49 in La Rochelle
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#17 of 49 in La Rochelle
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Brises
Hotel Les Brises
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud

Property: Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Address: Quai Louis Prunier, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
#14 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outer dock of the Vieux Port (old port), next to the new aquarium and between the historic town centre of La Rochelle and the new port area. Restaurant, bar, parking, meeting rooms (for 700 people). Airconditioned rooms (including 4 rooms for guests with limited mobility). Our restaurant will be closed on weekends from December 8 2006 until February 11 2007 inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud Hotel La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing