We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I asked for a room with Marina View and they managed to get us one. Great location, as just a stroll around the Marina into the Old Town with all the restaurants. and a huge plus is the free parking. The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly and cheerful. The room was small but cleverly fitted out to give wardrobe, desk, minibar etc - all very modern. The bed was comfortable but would have been nice if it was larger. The bathroom had good hot water for the shower, but only lukewarm for the bath !

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is very centrally situated for visits to la Rochelle, but does provide good value for money. The breakfast is very good and the evening meals are very good, although there would be scope for slightly more choice - particularly on the room service menu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire votre ressenti.
Nous sommes actuellement en train de travailler sur les cartes room service afin qu'elles répondent plus aux attentes de nos clients.

A bientôt
Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Good location, yes. Parking fine. Reception efficient. Nice touch with lighting that comes on as you approach. Easy access to room with contact card. But then the room!

Very modern, just like the pokey little houses that spring up. Standard double bed largely taken up by the ridiculous oversized cushions thrown on. No bedside table on my side of the bed as there is no room for one, and no light switches on my side. Tiny space for hanging up clothes. One drawer so badly fitted you can see in even when it is closed. Courtesy tray of tea and coffee but cardboard cups with no handle so you scald your fingers when you pick it up.

En suite shower room fine with razor socket and hairdryer but towels mean in size and not very fluffy.

Wifi OK.

For the price, this is not worth it. At 148.30€ for one night we will find a better room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JamesBond720
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Whilst the location and parking are good, you are paying Mercure prices for rooms that are below Ibis standard. The whole hotel is clattery and noisy, the doors slam, you can hear every tiny sound. The rooms are miserable, cheap and pokey. The light-proof blinds don't fit well enough to keep the room dark. The TV is small, cheap with a fuzzy screen. The mattress is too hard and VERY uncomfortable. The shelf over the bed is too low and you hit your head on it. The bathroom is tiny, accessed via small double doors. It is like relieving yourself in an MFI wardrobe. The shower is primitive .. no thermostat and no flow control so it over-powered. Turn the knob the wrong way and you get scalded. Breakfast is a DIY affair with a few harassed members of staff hanging about. We lost our money rather than stay for the second night we'd booked.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay_Doyle_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is comfortable, it does the job as somewhere to stay

Room is very small for the price you pay and to watch the tv you need a magnifying glass, the hotel kindly provides a tv channel list, but unfortunately, your lucky if half the channels are right

The are is very nice and the hotel location is perfect, they just miss out because they don't want to provide the luxuries most people come to expect.

Overall the hotel rooms are small but comfortable

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bairdy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Fantastic reception on arrival and given goodie bag with cereal bars and water. Room good size and clean and lovely hot shower. Right in the heart of LaRochelle, close to bars, restaurants and sights. I would not go for 3 course meal as was very disappointed with the little choice for this. Also bar man made it clear I was putting him out when I asked for Orange cocktail (however cocktail was lovely when received).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyA596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#20 of 49 in La Rochelle
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud

Address: Quai Louis Prunier, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#14 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outer dock of the Vieux Port (old port), next to the new aquarium and between the historic town centre of La Rochelle and the new port area. Restaurant, bar, parking, meeting rooms (for 700 people). Airconditioned rooms (including 4 rooms for guests with limited mobility). Our restaurant will be closed on weekends from December 8 2006 until February 11 2007 inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud Hotel La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing