We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay in la Rochelle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel in a great location, very close to the centre, with great views if you pay for a harbour view room. The room was fine but very small, the bathroom was tiny. However, it was clean and ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Je vous remercie pour votre retour.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights early July, the rooms are small but very well designed. The hotel is clean and the staff were accommodating its central to everything you will need in La Rochelle about a 15 minute walk to the main town. It was pretty noisy but we were there throughout the music festival and Bastille day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PKTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Je vous remercie pour votre retour.
C'est vrai que pendant les Francofolies, la ville est en ébullition et que notre emplacement tout près du centre ville a pu occasionner de la gêne.

Je suis heureuse de voir que dans l'ensemble votre séjour se soit bien passé.

A très bientôt
Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night only so the small room didn't bother us too much. The location was excellent just a 5 min walk from the town. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maryglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

je vous remercie pour votre commentaire et au plaisir de vous recevoir bientôt au Mercure de La Rochelle

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are on a motorbike trip, through Europe staying in 11 hotels. Mostly 4 stars. We did the same 2 years ago only went further and stayed in 18 hotels mostly 4 star. And have travelled extensively all of my life. i can honestly say that the room in this hotel was probably the smallest room i have ever stayed in. All the rooms at the back of the hotel on our floor were all the same size. Harry Potter cupboard comes to mind. The bathroom is a joke, you can hardly turn around in it, it resembled a ferry crossing bathroom. We were told when we arrived we had a special price for our room, I didn't know 4 star hotels had such small rooms, and we were not informed that our room would be inferior because of the cheaper price. To be fare the hotel is in a great location and the staff were friendly but won't stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comment.
Indeed our rooms are not so spacious but they well have a 4 star hotel confort.

The number of star for a hotel is not due only to the size of the room.

Anyway i am happy to see that you appreciate the staff.

Looking forward to welcome you in our beautifull city.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

stayed here in june. Very good location for La Rochelle abd free parking a bonus. However the rooms are very small , difficult for 2 adults and 2 suit cases to negotiate. The bathroom is small as well . Its set up reminded me of being in a caravan. . I use mercure and novotel a lot and I felt this was one of the poorer value for money ones

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 239cjb52239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Je vous remercie d'acoir pris quelques minutes de votre temps pour nos faire-part de vos impressions sur votre séjour.

Effectivement, les chambres ne sont pas très grandes, mais elles ont toutes le confort d'un 4 étoiles.

Je suis contente de voir que le reste des prestations de l'hôtel ont été à la hauteur de vos attentes

Bien cordialement

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bob660
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good value hotel for a few nights away from our long term renal in Sarlat. Generally we find the Mercure chain good value. Easy walking to the main attractions in La Rochelle. There is on site parking, often an important consideration in French cities, particularly in the old part of the city (usually the most interesting part for tourists).

Room Tip: View over to Maritime museum was perfect. Generally, we spend little time in hotel rooms when we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOB018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

je vous remercie et au plaisir de vous revoir au Mercure La Rochelle

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#20 of 49 in La Rochelle
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud

Address: Quai Louis Prunier, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#8 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outer dock of the Vieux Port (old port), next to the new aquarium and between the historic town centre of La Rochelle and the new port area. Restaurant, bar, parking, meeting rooms (for 700 people). Airconditioned rooms (including 4 rooms for guests with limited mobility). Our restaurant will be closed on weekends from December 8 2006 until February 11 2007 inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud Hotel La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing