We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Good hotel, centrally located only a few minutes walk from the bus station and central square, comfortable 15 minute walk through the streets to the harbour. Plenty of shops and eateries locally. Small but adequate, comfortable rooms with good showers. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Didn't use the restuarant so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    284
    106
    31
    7
See reviews for
49
305
50
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

While the price was comparatively low for the area, the room was very basic to the point of being unpleasant to stay in - it should have been cheaper.
The people who worked there were nice and helpful.
The location was good.
Overall stay here if you really need a bed for the night but not much else.

The bits that made the stay less than pleasant:

The toilet paper was rough, the towels rougher, and they were very very small (and I'm a very small girl). There was no hair towel, just one rough, small body towel and a floor towel. The all-in-one shower/face/body wash appeared to be leftover from the last visitors - luckily I had my own toiletries.

When we arrived our curtains were open and the view was onto what appeared to be the outdoor communal breakfast area (had to remember to shut those curtains before bed, for sure). We didn't want to leave the window open over night for this very reason - so it wasn't a very nice sleep.

Back in the bathroom, the actual SHOWER had one of those semi-opaque windows, it was full-length and looked out (and in) on/from the same communal area. Even if people only see a silhouette, that is not going to be a comfortable shower experience.

Our room, being next to the breakfast area meant we woke up to sounds of all the guests clambering towards the food, and the smell wasn't the best to wake up to either. The decor was hard on the eyes, and looked like an old hospital room with a fresh lick of orange paint.

No drinking water.

No air con (while I didn't expect it, it really needed it and many other 'value' hotels provide it)

I don't usually pull up all these details but it's the little things that make somewhere pleasant enough to stay the night. It isn't very expensive so you can't expect luxury at all, but have stayed in places for not much more, and in places even cheaper, which have been at a lot better of a standard. Just sharing the details for those who are of the same opinion.

Room Tip: not the one near the breakfast area on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is very ideally placed to visit the sights of La Rochelle. From the airport, I took the bus (for €1.30) to Place du Verdun, the hotel is a 2-3 minute walk from there. The staff were welcoming and the room was of a good size with clean (if a little small) bathroom. I would recommend an early booking as prices tend to get more expensive as time draws closer to your visit. The train station is a 15 minute walk and there are busses available from Place De Verdun if needed. Near to the hotel are many bakeries selling nice products for breakfast if you choose not to eat at the hotel. The port/harbour is approximately 10 mins walk from the hotel where there are many bars and restaurants to choose from. A very enjoyable place to visit and the hotel is ideally placed for such a nice town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkbd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This Ibis, though 2 star, was cleaner and more comfortable than a similarly priced Ibis in Paris. Ventilation, air conditioning, and bedding was better. Special mention to the lovely lady who serves le petit dejeuner. Her attention to cleanliness and maintaining an orderly buffet display was exemplary. Reception staff appeared somewhat disinterested, but perhaps the continuing hot weather had fatigued them too much. Good location, easy walk to the intriguing historical sites of La Rochelle. Within 10 minutes walk of the rail station.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrooge McDukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We found the Ibis well located for walking around La Rochelle. The receptionist, friendly, helpful and spoke english. The rooms are quite small, they are en suite but be warned, small. We found our rooms very clean and well kept. I would recommend it as a quick stop over bed for the night and moving onto somewhere else. They have 24 hour food but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

In La Rochelle, you have three IBIS hotels to choose from. I didn't chose the one nearest the railway station, because the train stations in France tend to collect questionable people. Not in La Rochelle. The IBIS closest to le gare was nearer the downtown, but that's really quibble, because this hotel was in the middle of whatever I wanted; shops, restaurants and museums. But maybe the other IBIS room would have been larger, because this was not a large room. Of course, I was on the top floor, the French third floor, and I'm taller than the average traveller, so that's why I had to stand sideways in the shower to avoid hitting my head on the sloping ceiling in a very small bathroom. But they actually had a shower curtain, so I didn't have to worry about putting water on the floor, a nice change of pace in IBIS France. Otherwise a comfortable room in a great city.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, the lobby is small, but the the petit dejuner is upstairs and very comfortable, opening out onto a terrace, which would probably be available in weather better than we were having. And La Rochelle is a great restaurant town, I don't recall ever eating so well, with more than a few great sights and things to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterfisher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and considering it is right in the centre of La Rochelle was very good. When we arrived the gentleman on reception advised us to park in Place Verdun and we were given a card to get in and out and pay for the car park in reception on the day we left, which made everything easier.The room was spotlessly clean, ok it was on the small side but you only sleep there,but being local to everything made up for it. If there was any criticism there was a fair bit of noise from outside,but as you are in the middle of a tourist town it is to be expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank negativecamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#16 of 49 in La Rochelle
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
#11 of 49 in La Rochelle
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel

Property: Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Address: 1 T rue Fleuriau, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non smoking Ibis La Rochelle Vieille Ville hotel is in a pleasant, quiet street in the heart of the historic town centre, 500 m from the railway station and 8 km from the airport. Located close to the cathedral, the Museum of the New World and 5 min from the old port, the hotel has 60 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet including 3 for guests with limited mobility. Features include a bar, 24hr snacks and public outdoor parking. The Esplanade des Parcs swimming pool is only 1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis La Rochelle
Accor La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing