We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in Champlain for 4 nights in August 2014. We booked a Prestige room and requested an extra bed for our 5 year old daughter. On arrival the staff were very friendly, allowing us to unload outside before parking the car in the adjacent garage/carpark.

Our room was in the old part of the hotel with a view of the beautiful garden, I'd suggest requesting this side of the hotel as I'd imagine that the newer rooms at the front will suffer from more noise. The room itself was very good, spacious and well equipped(although tv only had one english channel -BBC World).

The location is superb, a 10 minute walk from the buzz of the old port and takes you through the maze of charming old streets along the way.

One thing we have learned is to do some research on restaurants beforehand as every one around the old port does pretty much the same things, mussels with chips, pizza and similar salads, charging well over the odds too, best advice would be to try restaurants away from the port.

La Rochelle is a great visit and this Hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    277
    35
    9
    1
See reviews for
82
500
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a great old style hotel. The photos may make it appear somewhat grander than it really is, but it nevertheless is quite charming and genuine. It is superbly located and very quiet. The staff were super friendly and efficient. Not quite sure why it is the number 1 hotel in La Rochelle ... but don't let that frighten you away - we were very glad to have stayed there.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAL2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Close to the port, walking distance to everywhere in La Rochelle, a bit old fashioned but not in a bad way, helpful receptionist, and a lovely BIG courtyard garden that you can have breakfast in. Good continental breakfast with omelette, cooked eggs on request. Good wifi connection ( from the first floor where our room was)

Room Tip: we were on the first floor facing the road, with the shutters closed it was good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsnjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very nice base to visit La Rochelle. Very professional and tourist friendly staff. Great advice for the exploration of the city and surroundings. Quiet and beautiful oasis in the city center, the manor and gardens are worth enjoying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. The room was wonderful, spacious with a great bathroom. The hotel and garden are beautiful. I couldn't tear myself away from the breakfast. It's within walking distance of the beach, port and all of the great restaurants. Parking is next door on top of a car repair centre, bit of a squeeze in a Chelsea tractor.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ndeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've spend a few days there with our daughters and we had an excellent time. Nice rooms, excellent atmosphere and very friendly staff

Hotel antique, very well look after with furniture and rooms at that match

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechamplainLR, Responsable commercial at Best Western Champlain France Angleterre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Google Translation
avec tous nos remerciements pour votre avis et nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau-cordiales salutations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#6 of 49 in La Rochelle
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Brises
Hotel Les Brises
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Champlain France Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Champlain France Angleterre

Property: Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Address: 30 Rue Rambaud, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Champlain France Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Champlain France Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing