We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite value for money - sorry just missed the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not quite value for money - sorry just missed the mark”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My partner and I visited La Rochelle in September 2013 and stayed in this budget hotel which was on the upper end of the price you would expect to pay for a budget hotel. I'll begin with the BAD NEWS - 1) The hotel is next to a railway line and busy morning road. The train isn't really an issue as the first train only goes by late morning. So if you're an early bird the train won't be an issue. The road and cars however are certainly an issue if you're a light sleeper, a real pain for me I have to say. I changed rooms twice in the five nights I was there because of the noisy road. If possible, don't accept rooms 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 as these rooms are all on the front road facing side of the hotel and if you're a light sleeper the noise from the road may be an issue for you. 2) Another issue was the bed. Like sleeping on the floor, it was very uncomfortable. However you may be one of those people who like firm beds, if you are, then it shouldn't be an issue. 3) The breakfast is simple - cold meats - continental type breakfast, not a great selection and quite expensive for this type of breakfast at approximately £10, it's not worth it at all.

Good news!!! 1) The staff are lovely, they were very understanding and didn't mind changing my room when I wasn't happy and were pleasant and friendly just to have a chat about the city and things to do and see in La Rochelle. I think staff friendlyness and helpfulness goes a really long way. 2) The hotel is quite close to the main town centre, about a 10-15 min strol, so if you can wait for breakfast then you can walk to town in the morning and have a lovely freshly baked croissant or freshly made cake that the French are so amazing at making, yum! 3) The hotel is clean and bathroom is quite nice too.

Overall, unfortunately taking all the positives and negatives into account, for me, a hotel has to get the basics right first, comfort and decent breakfast (I'm hungry in the morning - feeeeedme). Unfortunately I didn't get a good nights sleep and that spoiled my holiday in La Rochelle, therefore this hotel is a no go, sorry I won't stay here again, don't build hotels next to train lines and busy roads pleeeez.

Room Tip: As above - If possible, don't accept rooms 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 as these rooms are all on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rumplestilskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

Following your recent stay with us we would like to thank you for having taking the time to place a comment under this site.
We were sad to read that your stay did not meet as per your expectation for a 3 stars recognized Hotel in La Rochelle.
As our first engagement is to welcome our guest in the most confortable and enjoying environment, we have taken good note of all your comments.

Kind regards,

Hotel Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    288
    45
    3
    5
See reviews for
80
311
10
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Was not looking for the boldest or expensive place to stay as wanted to spend more time and money in La Rochelle itself. This was perfect what we wanted. Took a 10 minute walk into main center through the port. just enough distance to let all the seafood dinners go down nicely. i would totally recommend this place if like us you only need a good clean bed and a warm shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

Enjoying the fact that we do meet your stay expectation in La Rochelle.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you soon as soon as you will like to taste again the nicer seafood dinner from France in La Rochelle.

Kind regards,

Hotel Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Gwent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel, rooms are small but well equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful. Easy walk into town, but poor taxi service on way back!!
A good restaurant over the road,
Not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hascy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon for your next visit to La Rochelle

Kind regards,

Hotel Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A really great place to stay if you're visiting La Rochelle and want somewhere comfortable, convienient and inexpensive. Kyriad Hotel is only a 10/15 minute walk from the town centre and the port with easy access to all the tourist attractions, good restuarants and night life.
The hotel itself is clean, comfortable, the staff are helpful and friendly and speak fluent English. The rooms are sizeable, with air conditioning and good en-suite facilities and ample storage space. Beds are large and comfortable and each room comes with complementary tea and coffee etc.
Cleaning and re-stocking takes places every day. Breakfast is expensive and therefore you're definetely better off taking a trip into town for your meals, however other than that the Hotel is very reasonably priced and you get much more for your money than any of the town-centre establishments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaB293841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you very much for your comments following you recent stay with us.

We were very enjoyed to see that you do have a nice journey with us which is for us the most important.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you soon during your next visit to La Rochelle.

Kind regards,

Hotel Kyriad La Rochelle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was a bit dubious about staying here as it is next to a railway line, but it was a very good, modern, clean hotel with no noise at all! The public areas are very light and spacious with an upstairs landing you could hold a dance in! It seems a shame, therefore, that rooms are quite small. However, they are well equipped with really nice trendy, modern shower room. Excellent Wifi connection and great air conditioning. Only 10 minutes max easy walk to the centre of La Rochelle. Extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us.

We were all very satisfied to see that your stay with us was the most enjoyable.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you soon in your home in La Rochelle

Kind regards,

Hotel Kyriad La Rochelle Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent visit to La Rochelle. The hotel is located about a 15-20 min walk from the port of La Rochelle - taxi from the airport cost 20 euros.
The accomodation provided was clean but basic. The room was thoroughly cleaned each day. Staff were friendly and efficient.
Breakfast was good - buffet style, 10 euros per person.
The hotel however lacks atmosphere. There is no where to get a snack or drink at night and no communal area to sit and relax as rooms are quite tight on space. We did however find a lovely little restaurant across from the hotel which opens tues-sat - Les Pieds Sous La Table
The hotel however resembles a motel more than a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

We have taken good note of all your remarks and were sad to read that not all of our service will meet with your expectation.

Kind regards,

Kyriad La Rochelle Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We mainly chose this hotel as it had parking available and was not too far from the main centre. We were surprised at how good it was. The hotel is located on what feels like a business park/industrial estate but there are other hotels on the same road, eg Ibis. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk into La Rochelle where there are lots of bars/cafes/restaurants.

The hotel seemed quite new and was very clean, modern and bright looking. There was plenty of parking and the gates were locked after 10pm (security code to gain access is required).

The rooms were a decent size, modern and brightly decorated as was the bathroom. Everything felt new and the public areas were airy. The room even had tea/coffee making facilities which is quite unusual in European hotels and not usually available.

The bed was very comfortable and although our room faced the road we didn't get any road noise at all.

Breakfast was an optional extra at €9.50 per person per night. We didn't try it as you could get breakfast in the town for around €6 per person. However, it looked reasonable when we had a look to see what was on offer.

I would definitely recommend and this was probably one of the best hotels we booked during our tour around France.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyriad-La-Rochelle, Responsable commercial at Kyriad La Rochelle Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

Following your recent stay with us, we would like to thank you very much for your comments.
On behalf of all the team, we were very pleased to read that your stay was pleasant and hoping to have the pleasure welcoming you soon during your next visit at La Rochelle.

Kind regards,

Kyriad La Rochelle Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
#10 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#9 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#4 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad La Rochelle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad La Rochelle Centre

Property: Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Address: 38 rue des Sauniers, 17000, La Rochelle, France (Formerly Hotel Alienor)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad La Rochelle Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad La Rochelle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing