We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location no air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence de France
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Right in the town centre with above average friendliness for the French, room was nice and clean and we paid for a suite.

Generally I would recommend a hotel like this and probably still would, however....

NO SHOWER AND NO AIR CONDITIONING IS UNACCEPTABLE.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fly7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our 4 day stay in La Rochelle. Postion is great for the town centre & all the wonderful restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast was not included, & at 15 € not cheap, but go hungry & there is plenty to help yourself too!
Our room was ok, comfortable & clean. This is a boutique hotel, so not like the hotel chains at all. Well worth a look, if for the location or peace & quiet available here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We found this to be a pleasant hotel located 5 minutes walk away from La Rochelle harbour. staff were extremely accommodating and informative. They arranged a private parking space for our car, which wouldnt fit in the small underground car park. Information was given about local activities and transport. It was a spacious hotel and our room had a kitchennete was reasonably well equipped and included a filter coffee machine! Only drawback was that there wasnt a safe in the room, however staff did keep our valuables safe on request.

Room Tip: Our room had a kitchenette which was very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missbrightonrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here four nights and very much liked the spacious, clean-lined and bright appearance and decor not only of our two-room apartment, but also the hotel in general. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. The rooms,in truth, need a little bit of tidying up here and there (a bit of flaking paint etc), but still felt clean and well maintained. Kitchenette was very tiny though - inside a cupboard. Very quiet area - actually quite difficult to find!, as it's in the old town about 20 mins walk from picturesque harbour area, down a little road with lovely old arches. This is where La Rochelle's real life is, restaurants etc ... so if you want to be in the middle of it all, this hotel may not suit??
,

Room Tip: Don't know if any of the rooms have larger kitchenettes? If you plan to do anything other than b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Threeberthcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here for five nights and were a last minute booking after the hotel we had chosen in a neighbouring region was actually closed when we turned up! We found this hotel in a Chateux et Hotels guide and they were very pleased to accommodate us last minute, late at night, with the minimum of fuss. We were given an attic-type room which had two levels with the bathroom and a kind of second bedroom/dressing room upstairs, which was lovely. Very spacious and quite luxurious in the older-fashioned French way. Being right in the centre ville, we found this hotel to be perfect. The breakfasts were good although quite expensive (as they always are when not included in your rate), so ate at local cafes most of the time. We would definitely return here when next in La Rochelle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed just for one night in a studio room (modern building located on the back of the historical one). Rooms are spacious wih little kitchenette. Bathroom is really big. Comparing to Appart'City ths place is much much better. Clean, comfortable and big bed 2m wide.
Location ideal - 10 min walk to old port, old market nearby if you want some fresh fruits or oysters, Carrefour city is on the corner of the street (even open on sunday from 9.30 to 13.00).
They've got own underground parking though it's limited space but also you can park in the yard.
Hall is very nice with a bar and fireplace and cosy chairs to drink something after long day touring around the city.
Optimal choice for the price and even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaTuzova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

In an easy central location this hotel gives you access to explore la rochelle with ease, and when you return to your room it is very peaceful with calm vibe, a lovely modern but funky decor. In the reception rooms there is a small bar, soft seating aree a overlooking the pool, and for the colder nights a roaring fire on offer. The rooms are spotless, well decorated and generous in size with some extra facilities for coffee, fridge and even some cooking if you don't want to eat out, but with all the fab places in la rochelle why would you ever want to stay in. Very reasonably priced for what you get. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flozephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#20 of 49 in La Rochelle
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Yachtman
Le Yachtman
#36 of 49 in La Rochelle
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de France

Address: 43 Rue du Minage, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: £73 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel in the historical town center of La Rochelle. RESIDENCE DE FRANCE offers 54 rooms and suites classified 5-stars. On site, you will get : full hotel service both for hotel, 24/24 welcome desk, parking, bar with meal offers, garden, heated swimming-pool, lounge with piano and library, free Wi-Fi in both rooms and lounge, buffet breakfast, meeting rooms etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing