We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central and friendly”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Really well located just off Place du Verdun, down a little side street, really easy to find. Amazingly cheap bus from the airport only €1.30, Welcoming and friendly staff. We had room number 10 on the ground floor. The bed was comfy and the shower powerful. We opted out of the €9 breakfast preferring to go to the cafes round the market place for coffee and buying pastries. There is a car park which looked very secure and is right next door to the hotel. We arrived by bus so didn't need to use but parking is difficult in La Rochelle so this is an added bonus if you are driving. We loved La Rochelle and Il de Re.. Public transport was brilliant and Place du Verdun is a main hub with regular buses taking just 50 minutes to reach St Martin on Il de Re at only €5 return. We will return and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    198
    66
    15
    11
See reviews for
70
256
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

2nd time here, and still as good, I think good value, staff very friendly, buffet continental breakfast only in the morning which is good start to the day.

If you have a car, book a parking space, OK 8 Euro for the night, but worth it.

Excellent location for getting around La Rochelle

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuddyFox785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

An unexpected joy, basic but comfortable hotel in the centre of La Rochelle, with parking on site. Clean , plenty of hot water, comfy beds, breakfast adequate although perhaps a little basic for some.Dog friendly rooms available. Internet in all rooms. Staff friendly speaking many languages. Deco dated, but to be honest you don't go to La Rochelle to sit in your room!!

Room Tip: If you are taking a dog , do not assume dog friendly rooms are avaialble
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeus_Faber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very reasonably priced hotel where we recently stayed (myself, wife and two daughters) for one night in a family room, as a stop over travelling on elsewhere. As stated by others, decor "feels" a bit tired although clean and tidy with plenty of room. Perfectly located down a side road close to the town centre (less than 30 seconds walk) and harbour area (less than 5 minutes gentle stroll), and with its own small, cheap and secure car park which I would highly recommend pre-booking for convenience. Hotel was nice and quiet despite it's proximity to the town, and ideally placed for walking to the many restaurants in the evening on the harbourfront. Friendly and helpful staff.
Didn't have the breakfast (we rather like buying the local Viennoise and warm Croissants at a nearby boulangerie instead) so can't comment, although the dining area looked quite small and dark - from what we could see.
Would definitely stay there again for its reasonable cost and convenience for everything in La Rochelle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Noicy, micro batbrooms, breakfast is bread, cheese and butter. They even leave emtpty toalett paper rolls in the rooms to save money. Internet speed in rooms are good.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank End U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed in a family room for one night. Our first impressions were uncertain however we enjoyed the quirkiness of this hotel. Children loved their beds on mezzanine level and (although stairs were very steep). Staff were very pleasant and helpful eg bringing us tea once children were asleep. Very central but also very quiet. Tired decor may put some travellers off but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Whilst our room was on the small side (as expected in a hotel of this type in France),it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.The carparking was secure and reasonably priced. Breakfast was O.K. but probably the weakest attribute of the hotel. The location was good ,only a short stroll to the harbour and shops were very handy. My wife and I would definatley stay here again if we visit La Rochelle in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferryman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style

Property: Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Address: 15 rue Bazoges, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a building of the XVI century, the Urban Style Francois Ier Hotel is situated in the heart of the historic quarter of La Rochelle, 5 minutes walk from the Old Port and local market. This charm hotel is unique on its sector. Here blow the spirit of the stone and the music. Its 36 rooms open on the universe of a known or emergent artist. In a quiet and serene atmosphere, join the expression of the music, the cinema, the painting, the street art and the photography. Urban Style Francois Ier Hotel offers comfortable rooms, for 1 to 5 people, all equipped with satellite television and Canal +; Two of them are accessible to people with reduced mobility. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, a public Internet connection in the lobby, a breakfast buffet, a 24-hour front desk and a private parking available by reservation. The hotel is in the center of the town and is within walking distance of the beach, parks, several shops, restaurants and lively bars. The Francois Ier Hotel is also close to attractions such as the Aquarium, which is a 15 minutes walk or accessible by bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing