We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird and wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Moville, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weird and wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and three friends stayed here in June, and it is one of the nicest most unusual hotels I've ever stayed in. Great off-road parking in the centre of town through very narrow streets. Each of the rooms is unique, with odd bits of furniture, paintings and all shapes and sizes of room. Like a lot of France, it is a mixture of modern and ancient. The staff were lovely, the rooms comfortable and the location is great. I highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    198
    66
    15
    11
See reviews for
70
256
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile


Room 227 at Hotel Francois La Rochelle.

I enjoyed my two day stay here. The room in this two star hotel was clean and of a reasonable size and price. No aircon but the window could be opened and there was not much noise. The hotel is located on a quiet one way narrow street in the old part of this port town.

When we arrived without a reservation and were faced with a "complete" sign we thought we were out of luck but two rooms were available. We asked to see the room first before a decision was made and the lady at reception was happy to oblige. They have on site secure parking at 7 euro per night.

The hotel has two floors and no lift. Not sure how many room there are. A basic buffet breakfast is available and there are many other options nearby.

The staff were very helpful. There was this guy who manned the reception one morning. We don't speak French and he did not speak English but he was still able to search on line for a coin laundry and direct us to it on a map.

If there is one negative it was the bath with a hand shower mounted at about head level when seated in the bath. I would have preferred a much easier to use normal height shower outlet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HAE4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first visit to La Rochelle and really liked it. The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke great English. The hotel had parking which was really useful as it is a busy place. You do need to pre-book this and I would recommend it. Our room was quite small but we were only there for 1 night so wasn't that important and we only had over night bags. Also it is a great location for getting around La Rochelle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGCMGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

*Hotel Review - Hotel Francois 1er - by Top Contributor AngryAngMo*
We were on a road trip through the south of France last year, starting in Paris, and then going down via car through the chateau area, stopping in La Rochelle for 1 night, then Bordeaux and finishing in Saint Jean de Luz. We choose the hotel because of its location, its price and availability. Be aware "La Rochelle" is a high frequented holiday destination, also for locals, so book in advance for the best deals. Here is the review:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 1 Night
When: July 2012
Room: Standard Twin Room
Price: 80 Euro (135 SGD)
Breakfast included - NO (7.50 Euro)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Location:
The hotel is located conveniently within the city center, means you can walk everywhere (mainly the harbour area which La Rochelle is most famous for). Without navigation or map it might be a bit difficult to find as its wihtin a smaller side alley, and traffic directions in La Rochelle are horrible if you are with a car (only one way streets). The car park is tiny and it will require a bit of skill to park your car there. Be aware if you have medium to larg sized cars.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel / Rooms:
The hotel itself is small, maybe 10-15 rooms, and a bit outdated. The front desk lady waas very kind, but our room was facing the car park which wasn't to enticing. When we left, we literally moved our stuff through the room window directly into the car trunk, that's HOW close the car park was. There are no facilities (gym / pool etc) but you will spend most of your time in La Rochelle eating and exploring. If you need only a room for 1 night, and you want something below 100 Euro, I think this is a good option.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Location
+ Price

BAD:
- A bit outdated

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We requested a ground floor room which we were given, unfortunately the room was cold as it only had one radiator to heat the high ceilinged room with single glazing. We asked at reception and were given an extra heater and blankets though. The room was adequate although a little grotty and the bathroom had a very odd combination of small rooms in which the doors all bumped into each other. The one thing this place has going for it is the staff are lovely and very friendly. There is also on site parking although it does cost 5 euros a day. Not a bad hotel but if you want something other than really basic, maybe go for something a bit more expensive.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is right near the bus station so if you are getting the 20 minute bus ride from the airport it is ideal and also sufficiently down a side road not to get much noise. The room we had was big enough and a fair sized en suite too. The rooms are adequately cleaned each day and new towels added. The staff are so friendly too I have seen this in other reviews and its true. The nice thing about this hotel is all the museums and harbour are no more than 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in old town with immediate access to shopping, restaurants, place de marche and beautiful castellated harbour. If you have a car - book the hotel car park , well worth the small charge. Rooms basic but clean and good size bathrooms. Staff are very cheerfull and friendly. Breakfast good value too! If your stay includes a Saturday - leave your car in the car park as the large market closes off many adjacent streets until 19.00 hrs.
I imagine this hotel would be ideal for a trip to La Rochelle for a weekend at the Christmas market.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style

Property: Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Address: 15 rue Bazoges, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a building of the XVI century, the Urban Style Francois Ier Hotel is situated in the heart of the historic quarter of La Rochelle, 5 minutes walk from the Old Port and local market. This charm hotel is unique on its sector. Here blow the spirit of the stone and the music. Its 36 rooms open on the universe of a known or emergent artist. In a quiet and serene atmosphere, join the expression of the music, the cinema, the painting, the street art and the photography. Urban Style Francois Ier Hotel offers comfortable rooms, for 1 to 5 people, all equipped with satellite television and Canal +; Two of them are accessible to people with reduced mobility. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, a public Internet connection in the lobby, a breakfast buffet, a 24-hour front desk and a private parking available by reservation. The hotel is in the center of the town and is within walking distance of the beach, parks, several shops, restaurants and lively bars. The Francois Ier Hotel is also close to attractions such as the Aquarium, which is a 15 minutes walk or accessible by bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing