We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality on a budget ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Quality on a budget ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the great location and clean, comfortable room.
Like most French hotels you need to open the windows for any fresh air so security can become a concern but that's probably me being cautious as a woman travelling alone.
Staff friendly and speak excellent English. Breakfast was good value at E8.5

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Red263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    180
    59
    13
    11
See reviews for
63
234
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
294 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We appreciated the friendliness and caring demonstrated by the hotel staff. They spoke good English. When we shared our interest to drive to a local island, hotel staff educated us about the best strategies to enjoy the visit and save money. We followed their suggestions and maximized our visit. The room itself was basic and we missed air conditioning but the breakfast the following morning was a nice way to start the day. One of the best aspects of the hotel, other than excellent staff, was the on-site, secured parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra-Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A budget hotel right in the centre of La Rochelle with gated parking...absolute bonus! Beds are a bit hard, rooms are basic but for an overnight stop it's perfect. Lovely friendly staff and great breakfast for 8 Euros.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter all similar for price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PColumbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed two nights here in the center of La Rochelle. Car park brilliant and necessary as
parking is hard to find and expensive
Room was basic,clean and tidy.Staff very friendly with reception open day and night. English spoken by all behind the desk.
Breakfast was good. Being in the middle of town there are many eateries to suit all tastes so
not stuck for lunch or dinner. Everywhere within walking distance so car can be abandoned
till you leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moville, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and three friends stayed here in June, and it is one of the nicest most unusual hotels I've ever stayed in. Great off-road parking in the centre of town through very narrow streets. Each of the rooms is unique, with odd bits of furniture, paintings and all shapes and sizes of room. Like a lot of France, it is a mixture of modern and ancient. The staff were lovely, the rooms comfortable and the location is great. I highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile


Room 227 at Hotel Francois La Rochelle.

I enjoyed my two day stay here. The room in this two star hotel was clean and of a reasonable size and price. No aircon but the window could be opened and there was not much noise. The hotel is located on a quiet one way narrow street in the old part of this port town.

When we arrived without a reservation and were faced with a "complete" sign we thought we were out of luck but two rooms were available. We asked to see the room first before a decision was made and the lady at reception was happy to oblige. They have on site secure parking at 7 euro per night.

The hotel has two floors and no lift. Not sure how many room there are. A basic buffet breakfast is available and there are many other options nearby.

The staff were very helpful. There was this guy who manned the reception one morning. We don't speak French and he did not speak English but he was still able to search on line for a coin laundry and direct us to it on a map.

If there is one negative it was the bath with a hand shower mounted at about head level when seated in the bath. I would have preferred a much easier to use normal height shower outlet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HAE4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first visit to La Rochelle and really liked it. The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke great English. The hotel had parking which was really useful as it is a busy place. You do need to pre-book this and I would recommend it. Our room was quite small but we were only there for 1 night so wasn't that important and we only had over night bags. Also it is a great location for getting around La Rochelle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGCMGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#4 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#9 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#18 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style

Property: Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Address: 15 rue Bazoges, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a building of the XVI century, the Urban Style Francois Ier Hotel is situated in the heart of the historic quarter of La Rochelle, 5 minutes walk from the Old Port and local market. This charm hotel is unique on its sector. Here blow the spirit of the stone and the music. Its 36 rooms open on the universe of a known or emergent artist. In a quiet and serene atmosphere, join the expression of the music, the cinema, the painting, the street art and the photography. Urban Style Francois Ier Hotel offers comfortable rooms, for 1 to 5 people, all equipped with satellite television and Canal +; Two of them are accessible to people with reduced mobility. The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, a public Internet connection in the lobby, a breakfast buffet, a 24-hour front desk and a private parking available by reservation. The hotel is in the center of the town and is within walking distance of the beach, parks, several shops, restaurants and lively bars. The Francois Ier Hotel is also close to attractions such as the Aquarium, which is a 15 minutes walk or accessible by bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing