We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The exceptional staff make this hotel truly great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The exceptional staff make this hotel truly great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 daughters (11 and 13 yrs) and cannot recommend it enough. From the warm welcome we received on arrival until the moment we left the staff could not have helped more - day and night shift staff work incredibly hard and nothing is too much trouble. Their English was excellent and they helped to book two great restaurants during our stay. There is a warmth in this hotel, that come from the people who run it, that makes it special - this coupled with the spotless bedrooms, superb location (between great beach and best restaurants) and wonderful breakfasts made it our favourite hotel in France this year. Make sure you try one of the 20+ flavours of local jams from 'Le Jardin de Lydie' a local producer from Ile de Re they showcase at breakfast - they are something special and we brought many jars home for family gifts. Great bacon, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, croissants, yogurts, pancakes, speciality teas and efficient service made breakfast a hit. We reserved a car park space before our arrival in the outdoors car park which worked well as we had a large estate car. Beds were super comfortable and showers spot on, big fluffy white towels too. Sun-loungers in small patio for sunbathing and private booking in the spa was fun especially the massage tables. Exceptional customer service - we will be back.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the beach/car park side on the second floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvette-Lebeau, Gérant at La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear JGS G,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in La Rochelle and thank you for taking time out to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your kind comments were truly heart-warming and I immediately shared them with all the staff, I must say that all work with passion, particularly the warm and friendly attitude of which you spoke.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in La Rochelle and that you left with some of Lydia's famous jams, they're always a huge success.

Thank you again for your trust and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sylvette Lebeau
Owner/manager
+33(0)5 46 50 65 65
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    204
    73
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
339
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel and the staff are fantastic. My family just returned from a week in their two bedroom suite which was perfect us and for the two children. The location is perfect for restaurants and the beach, and the staff looked after us amazingly well. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in La Rochelle for two nights only and the hotel was perfectly placed for both the town and its many excellent restaurants (most of which were under two minutes walk away) and the local sandy beach which was less than a five minute walk from the hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who looked after us even after we had checked out of our room whilst waiting to leave for our late flight home. Very reasonably priced for a very fine hotel experience. Highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a couple of nights on our way to the Il de Re. We booked on the strength of the recommendations on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Nice modern touches which add to the general feel of the hotel, such as open plan shelving rather than the more traditional wardrobe and chest of drawers. The hotel is a couple of streets from the center of La Rochelle and there are plenty of Restaurants very close by. We did not eat in the Hotel apart from breakfast, which was not included in the price and was actually quite expensive for what it was. Only drawback for us was that smoking was permitted in the central courtyard. This drifted up towards our open window which was pretty unpleasant. Reception staff were extremely helpful and helped with onward travel plans.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

La Monnaie Art & Spa hotel was lovely, very easy to find, with really comfy beds. We had a couple of gripes, but only minor ones. The decoration in the rooms was very bland - lots of white, grey and black. It was almost like we'd gone colour blind when we woke up. Also very little storage space, so we kept tripping over our bags. The floor in the shower is a bit strange - lots of tiny little holes in a metal sheet so it hurt your feet a bit to stand on it. The bed, whilst very comfy, was two single beds pushed together, so there was rather a large lip in the middle which got a bit irritating. And if you decide to park at the hotel, be careful if you have a big car - getting to the car park is no picnic!
Other than that, it was very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and did everything they could to help. Most of them spoke English to a very high standard. The location was excellent, close enough to be in the thick of La Rochelle, but far away enough that we could still get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rokie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spent 2 nights there and the location is great just a short walk from the center and the Port. They have private parking ( fee ) but you will need to reserve in advance. Our room, Suite Albane, at the 1. floor was to the garden/parking and very calm surrounding.
The Hotel has several very interesting designs in the public area as well as in the room but should not sacrifice functionality for style. The bathroom is just too dark with its blue light, to put on make up is a guessing game and the outcome could be ' Frankenstein '. Also the bathroom is small and has a shower which doors don't close properly, means one will need to hold a foot against the door to avoid hitting ones back. We did comment on this at check-out time.
Our suite ( 289.00€ ) had 2 rooms, the bedroom had a safe which was not mounted, does that help the thieves ? 1 small bottle of mineral water just in the first night, it was not replaced as empty, so we used the minibar and got billed. The living room we did only use to store our suitcase. Due to a thunderstorm they had problems creating the room-key so we were offered a tea/coffee and waited in the lobby. Unfortunately the next day it did not work anymore, so back to reception to get a new one. Overall an interesting place and breakfast for a fair value. With a few changes it could become real great.
Overall the Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our second night of this trip was spent at this rather odd hotel. Listed as an "Art and Spa" hotel, we saw neither the Spa or enjoyed the "Art". Was trying far too hard to be chic and trendy, but it felt rather soul-less and cold, and the staff coolish as well. They did upgrade us to a nice room at the rear of the property overlooking the courtyard and small car park which was a nice gesture. The room was rather sparsely furnished with quirky light fitments and a fairly comfortable bed, but it was the bathroom that let it down. Very dark with "mood" lighting (not what you need in a bathroom), a helpful magnifying mirror, but you could barely see what you were doing! The shower tray was of perforated metal (uncomfortable on the feet), shower OK, but the door could not be shut properly. The corridors were dark too (lit eventually by automatic lighting but this needs a more ready response when coming in from the bright light outside). Breakfast was acceptable but nothing to shout about. Style or comfort - give me comfort every time.

Room Tip: Rear courtyard rooms have the best light and our quiet - no passing traffic, boat masts in the harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabywiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#20 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#18 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel

Property: La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
Address: 3 rue de la Monnaie, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 17th century building has been given a current makeover with decor that is audacious and livelyThe hallways, lounges and 36 rooms and suites offer a warm and modern luxury atmosphere. Very high quality bedding in the rooms with Garden or patio view, a hearty buffet breakfast mostly with local products.The private spa offers an infinity jacuzzi, sauna, and water jets massage tables.La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town center of La Rochelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Monnaie Art And Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art Hotel La Rochelle
De La Monnaie Hotel
Hotel De La Monnaie
De La Monnaie Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing