We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel Luxe
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Sweet little hotel, tucked quietly away on the edge of town, but within a few yards of the main restaurant area, shops, old town and port. Room and bed on the small side, but very comfortable. It says "art" hotel - it was all very strange !
Good for brief stopover, but would have wanted more space if staying longer. Couldn't have been better located. Make sure you pre-book their private parking. Its a nightmare otherwise.
A pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent three evenings at La Monnaie and was very impressed with the service of the staff and the attention to detail. The Hotel is located on the edge of all touristy in La Rochelle so you can enjoy the organized bedlam and then retire to a quite evening at the hotels. Mattresses were extremely comfortable even though they were only doubles which can be troublesome for us with large canadian framed bodies but they did the trick. Quite well placed air conditioning vents allowed for great sleeping. Parking is available and worth the extra charge as it is secured.

Room Tip: Court yard rooms were more than sufficient. Skip the breakfast option when booking online. It is les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottHardisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 daughters (11 and 13 yrs) and cannot recommend it enough. From the warm welcome we received on arrival until the moment we left the staff could not have helped more - day and night shift staff work incredibly hard and nothing is too much trouble. Their English was excellent and they helped to book two great restaurants during our stay. There is a warmth in this hotel, that come from the people who run it, that makes it special - this coupled with the spotless bedrooms, superb location (between great beach and best restaurants) and wonderful breakfasts made it our favourite hotel in France this year. Make sure you try one of the 20+ flavours of local jams from 'Le Jardin de Lydie' a local producer from Ile de Re they showcase at breakfast - they are something special and we brought many jars home for family gifts. Great bacon, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, croissants, yogurts, pancakes, speciality teas and efficient service made breakfast a hit. We reserved a car park space before our arrival in the outdoors car park which worked well as we had a large estate car. Beds were super comfortable and showers spot on, big fluffy white towels too. Sun-loungers in small patio for sunbathing and private booking in the spa was fun especially the massage tables. Exceptional customer service - we will be back.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the beach/car park side on the second floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvette-Lebeau, Gérant at La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear JGS G,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in La Rochelle and thank you for taking time out to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your kind comments were truly heart-warming and I immediately shared them with all the staff, I must say that all work with passion, particularly the warm and friendly attitude of which you spoke.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in La Rochelle and that you left with some of Lydia's famous jams, they're always a huge success.

Thank you again for your trust and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sylvette Lebeau
Owner/manager
+33(0)5 46 50 65 65

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel and the staff are fantastic. My family just returned from a week in their two bedroom suite which was perfect us and for the two children. The location is perfect for restaurants and the beach, and the staff looked after us amazingly well. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in La Rochelle for two nights only and the hotel was perfectly placed for both the town and its many excellent restaurants (most of which were under two minutes walk away) and the local sandy beach which was less than a five minute walk from the hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who looked after us even after we had checked out of our room whilst waiting to leave for our late flight home. Very reasonably priced for a very fine hotel experience. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a couple of nights on our way to the Il de Re. We booked on the strength of the recommendations on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Nice modern touches which add to the general feel of the hotel, such as open plan shelving rather than the more traditional wardrobe and chest of drawers. The hotel is a couple of streets from the center of La Rochelle and there are plenty of Restaurants very close by. We did not eat in the Hotel apart from breakfast, which was not included in the price and was actually quite expensive for what it was. Only drawback for us was that smoking was permitted in the central courtyard. This drifted up towards our open window which was pretty unpleasant. Reception staff were extremely helpful and helped with onward travel plans.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

La Monnaie Art & Spa hotel was lovely, very easy to find, with really comfy beds. We had a couple of gripes, but only minor ones. The decoration in the rooms was very bland - lots of white, grey and black. It was almost like we'd gone colour blind when we woke up. Also very little storage space, so we kept tripping over our bags. The floor in the shower is a bit strange - lots of tiny little holes in a metal sheet so it hurt your feet a bit to stand on it. The bed, whilst very comfy, was two single beds pushed together, so there was rather a large lip in the middle which got a bit irritating. And if you decide to park at the hotel, be careful if you have a big car - getting to the car park is no picnic!
Other than that, it was very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and did everything they could to help. Most of them spoke English to a very high standard. The location was excellent, close enough to be in the thick of La Rochelle, but far away enough that we could still get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
286 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Lagord
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel Luxe

Address: 3 rue de la Monnaie, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: £81 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 17th century building has been given a current makeover with decor that is audacious and livelyThe hallways, lounges and 36 rooms and suites offer a warm and modern luxury atmosphere. Very high quality bedding in the rooms with Garden or patio view, a hearty buffet breakfast mostly with local products.The private spa offers an infinity jacuzzi, sauna, and water jets massage tables.La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town center of La Rochelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Monnaie Art And Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art Hotel La Rochelle
De La Monnaie Hotel
Hotel De La Monnaie
De La Monnaie Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing