We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So minimalistic its spartan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So minimalistic its spartan”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Looks great from the outside. Rooms are really form over function, wardrobes consist of shelves in the main bedroom with no doors. Bathroom really cramped for 2 agile , thin people. Shower floor consisted of a perforated sheet of stainless which was obviously difficult to hygiene hence fusty smell.No toiletries in bathroom apart from a small bar of soap and a bottle of shower gel / shampoo fixed to the shower wall, the sort of thing I would expect in a travel lodge. Despite being expensive, we were only given one 500ml bottle of water during our 3 day stay. We were given two Toblerones ( sweet size) on the first evening , nothing on subsequent evenings. No tea making facilities, no iron. Lighting in corridors operated by movement sensors, a bit like being on a ghost train with the undulating floors, we had a competition to see how far we could run up the pitch black corridor before they came on. Staff were great, very friendly with exceptional english. Breakfasts OK although expensive , strange arrangement where baskets of bread are removed before they are empty, leaving the breakfast room bread less until the person comes back with the full basket, would have been easier to bring the full basket and then take the partly empty one back allowing people to continue serving themselves ?? Beds very comfy. Car parking an extra, getting into and out of the underground car park not for the faint hearted or range rover drivers !!
Too minimalistic for its own good and a victim of form over function.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeus_Faber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    225
    78
    23
    6
See reviews for
64
370
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a suite on the back of this boutique hotel with two rooms and a living. All well decorated in a contemporary way with nice colors and design. The beds were very good (although the pillows were a bit too small for us !!). We arrived earlier than anticipated and we got access to the room immediately, the personnel helped us to get our luggage to the room and we parked the car in the courtyard behind the hotel. This hotel is directly located near the best restaurants and best sites of the typical La Rochelle harbour and we didn't use our car during all our stay as everything was very conveniently reachable.
Excellent experience that we considere exceptional as we are very often disappointed when we compare what is said and what we see when we arrive. The prices are realistic and correct.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite, they are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We typically spend holidays in 'chain' hotels, Hyatt, Four Seasons, Jumeirah etc.. because of the 'minimum level of service and guarantee that it represents'. I do realise that you sometimes miss the authenticity of a family owned business and how much value this can add when it is well run. This was typically the case of La Monnair Art & Spa.

The hotel is absolutely splendid. Beautiful decor, trendy and tasteful yet very warm. The photos on the website are very accurate representations of the hotel. we had the beautiful suite 106. Hotel is impeccably clean, but it the service and the warmth of the staff that makes a difference. They couldn't be more friendly or helpful. In the end, its the type of atmosphere where you feel just right, comfortable and at home.

Breakfast was very good and we didn't try the room service.

The Spa concept is original yet different. I liked the privacy concept. Certainly worth it as a couple as you can have a massage table each.

We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great location, beautiful old building and trendy art, very friendly staff. As several reviewers have pointed out, rooms are smallish and don't offer much by way of storage, which is OK for a short stay. Avoid rooms over the street as it gets a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking onto street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A beautiful old building in the old harbor on the quiet street makes this hotel a candidate for a good stay? Well, maybe. Very bright and modern furnishings in the room, but not very practical. Limited storage, even for a short stay. Quite small but very comfortable bed. Small bathroom. Good breakfast but quite expensive. Excellent staff. Public parking nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Great location and staff were very helpful. However we stayed in one of their smaller rooms for a few nights and the room seemed to be style over practical. There were 3 coathangers on a plastic tree for us to use and that was the extent of the storage space, so it meant living out of a suitcase for a few days. I would of thought at least some storage space (wardrobe or drawers ) should be standard in all rooms for a 4star hotel....,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinglefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Sweet little hotel, tucked quietly away on the edge of town, but within a few yards of the main restaurant area, shops, old town and port. Room and bed on the small side, but very comfortable. It says "art" hotel - it was all very strange !
Good for brief stopover, but would have wanted more space if staying longer. Couldn't have been better located. Make sure you pre-book their private parking. Its a nightmare otherwise.
A pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#2 of 49 in La Rochelle
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Brises
Hotel Les Brises
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel

Property: La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
Address: 3 rue de la Monnaie, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 17th century building has been given a current makeover with decor that is audacious and livelyThe hallways, lounges and 36 rooms and suites offer a warm and modern luxury atmosphere. Very high quality bedding in the rooms with Garden or patio view, a hearty buffet breakfast mostly with local products.The private spa offers an infinity jacuzzi, sauna, and water jets massage tables.La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town center of La Rochelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Monnaie Art And Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art Hotel La Rochelle
De La Monnaie Hotel
Hotel De La Monnaie
De La Monnaie Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing