We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly Hotel, good location”
Review of Accostage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Accostage Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first stop on the return leg of our journey from a visit to friends in Armagnac.
The Hotel is small, but the rooms are nice, and the staff are friendly and helpful.
We got some ironing done, and the owner only let us pay a small amount as her teenager had done it for us.
Location is quiet, and an easy walk into the town along the sea front.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Before booking the hotel I reviewed other travellers comments and we were not disappointed by our choice of hotel. We only had one day in La Rochelle as meeting family so this hotel was ideally located. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was clean and well decorated with clean linen and a lovely shower and comfortable bed. Breakfast was value for money and good quality.
Only critisisim was our room was on the third floor and there is no lift but dispite that staff were quick to offer to carry our bags to the room so no real problem. Hotel located close to seafront and within easy reach of town. Would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have difficulty with stairs have a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It wasn't too hard to park in the road near the hotel and we received a warm welcome. The room was plain but fine. As it was on the front we didn't risk an open window at night but in fact it seemed very quiet. The short walk into the old town was lovely along the prom. Good choice at breakfast - we thought it good value overall and would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SheilaSouthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed a night here on our way further south. Whilst its set on a residential street its very quiet and 10-15 minutes walk from the centre. The room, whilst basic, was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Whilst there is no restaurant they do offer a breakfast service which was good. The one criticism I have, which may not be the fault of the hotel, is that it is advertised on certain hotel booking websites as having parking which there is not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evans_kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice little Hotel, yes it is about 10 minutes walk from the Town center, but 30 seconds from the sea, however it is quiet at night, and Larochelle can be noisy. There is no air con. but as it was't to hot it was allright. A nice breeze from the sea at nite was cooling the room. Beds are very confotable, breakfast was fresh and good anough for starting the day. We find the rooms size standard for France. Do not be fool by the pictures on there web site, the hotel is not on the beach front.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not showing on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricTroteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

What to say about our stay at this hotel.

Part I
We arrived with out children (2 and 5) from the airport around nine thirty to find a sign saying that the hotel was full and that reception was closed. No problem, we thought, we had received an email from the manger, Alexis, that evening saying that they had confirmed our reservation and that, if we were getting there after eight in the evening, we should call for the entry code

The email:
Subject: arrivee ce soir

Monsieur bonsoir,
nous avons noté votre réservation pour ce soir; l’accueille de l’hôtel ferme vers 20 heures.
Si vous arrivez plus tard, vous devrez appeler au 05 46 66 21 31 pour avoir le code de la porte d’entrée.
Dans l’attente de vous recevoir
Cordialement

A Lepoutre

But no. Alexis told us that, despite sending the email above just two hours previously, titled "Your arrival this evening", he'd given our room away. No apology, we should have called. But we'd exchanged emails just two days beforehand, there must be some mistake, we said. No mistake, we should have called, the hotel was full.

Part II
Undeniably, Alexis did his best to solve the problem. In fact he even turfed his daughter out of her own room, so that we could stay there. I slept on the floor, but at least we had a room, as he told us that every hotel in La Rochelle was full that night. Breakfast the next day was good, his wife does indeed produce lovely local biscuits and his daughter helpfully pointed us in the direction of the supermarket. The hotel is nice and 15 minutes' walk, tops, from town. No complaints at all there.

Part III
So he gave our room away, I slept on the floor, there was no apology and we were charged about €120 for our stay, without any suggestion of a discount for our inconvenience. But he did find a room for us and everybody was very nice. Those are the facts. You decide..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpfull, but to be honest the price was way too high for what was offered. The location was a good 15 minutes walk to the center and in a residential street with a lot of car noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastiaan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accostage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accostage Hotel

Address: 6 Avenue Coligny, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Accostage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accostage Hotel is ideally situated in a calm neighborhood. If not downtown, it is only 100m from the Casino Barriere and the beach "La Concurrence" and within a 10min walk from the historic center and city harbor. The hotel does not offer private parking but there is plenty of free parking available on the streets nearby. The hotel provides short term parking in front of the hotel for loading and off-loading luggage. The hotel is privately owned and the owners make it a point to welcome the hotel guests in a friendly and relaxed manner with the sole objective to make your stay as pleasurable as possible The rooms, with contemporary design, are nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfas is made up of local breads, homemade cakes, cheese, yoghurts, fruits, cereals etc. The hotel provides bicycles to guests on a very fare rate on a first come first serve basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accostage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing