We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, speedy and friendly service”
Review of Iseo

Iseo
Reserve with
Iseo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 520 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok food, speedy and friendly service”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Went here on a busy saturday night, tasty food, but nothing to write home about. Mussels were cold but flavoursome, steak was tasty but sinewy. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amadainmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    659
    98
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service and nice food.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My girlfriend and I visited this restaurant twice this week in La Rochelle. The first time we visited, the service and the food was fantastic. On our second visit, we tried some other dishes on the menu, but unfortunately, it wasn't as good as the first time. They were very busy as it was a Saturday night and our service was quite slow and not so courteous.

Overall, this restaurant was lovely and I would recommend you try it, just maybe not on a very busy night. I would recommend the tuna carpaccio starter as this was delicious and the thai red scallops was one of the best curries I've ever had. Overall we had a fantastic evening and a good one here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian inspired seafood by the harbour”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Really lovely place with a proper 'restaurant' feel. Great if your taste buds are a bit jaded after a week of menus du jour. There is a terrace with nice views of the harbour but we ate indoors as it was pouring down. Waitress spoke great English if you needed any help. Imagine this would also be a nice place in the evening. Great atmosphere and service. We even felt relaxed with our three children in tow.

Helpful?
1 Thank ciaferaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good food with an Oriental slant, well presented and friendly (but not oppressive) service. On the slightly pricy side but understandable given its prime location right by the harbour towers and we did not feel overcharged in the round. Great view while eating outside on a fine summer's evening. Had a superb bottle of Muscadet with the meal and the cafe gourmand was great (no chewing gum for me!). Would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We enjoyed a perfect meal on a hot sticky night after an exhausting day looking around La Rochelle. Having booked in advance, an essential to be sure of getting a table, we arrived to find the restaurant was already extremely busy. Rather than opt for a table outside where it was already very full we went indoors (the front of the restaurant opens up so it didn't really feel like being inside) where it was cooler and where we enjoyed the meal in relative peace and quiet.

Despite the restaurant being very busy the service was very attentive and the timing between courses was pretty much perfect. The food was exceptional. The fusion between the best of French local seafood and Asian spices was incredible. My wife had Tuna Tartar which was very fresh and very tasty. I had Crispy prawns, mozzarella & vegetables with a dip made in heaven.

For mains my wife had wok fried fruits de mer with basil on a bed of rice and I had Cuttlefish caramelized fried rice with crab & chorizo. Both dishes were perfect both in taste and size of the portion. The subtleness of the spices added to, but did not distract from, the taste of the seafood - a most amazing experience.

For dessert we had Tarte Tatin. It was very nice but the weakest dish in the meal. A local bottle of white wine and coffee completed the meal. The total bill was just short of 90 Euros. Great value for an incredible meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank City-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iseo also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Iseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing