We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in a lively and interesting port/harbour town”
Review of Hotel Le Bord'O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bord'O
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in a lively and interesting port/harbour town”
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Nice looking picture of hotel on its website attracted us, but have to say it doesn't live up to first expectations. Location of hotel is good and within walking distance of the old port and all there is to see there. However, rooms are pretty basic and rather small, although bed was comfortable and room clean. Air con in the room worked fine, which was good considering the temperatures were fairly warm, although it was quite noisy. Bathroom was small but adequate, although the shower was very small and had mould around the edges of the shower tray (yuk), and there was nothing to attach the shower head to, so you had to hold it in your hand to shower/wash hair. Parking for the car was in a public car park about 5 minutes drive from the hotel, which was OK (given the central location of the hotel it could forgiven for not having on site parking). Staff friendly enough, in particular the guy on at night who made us coffees and teas at 11pm and let us take table and chairs out into the paved area at the side of the hotel, when we couldn't find anywhere else nearby that was open/would serve us. All in all, it was adequate enough for the 2 nights we spent there, and La Rochelle itself made up for it....great atmosphere and lively in the old port area in the evenings.

collecting the car to leave!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    91
    44
    19
    5
See reviews for
38
85
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utrecht
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Very nice location for this hotel, very near the nice harbor of the city. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is very clean. What is really fantastic over there is de bike storage. A place especially foreseen for the bikes and that s been proposed by de desk when we did the reservation. Nothing is more difficult than taking your bikes and having to leave then on de car. It's not a luxury hotel and that's the reason that it’s not to expensive. The rooms not small not big just ok but the bathroom tiny. And it was more or less noisy in the morning. Also breakfast was correct. Anyhow, the little things that were disturbing were completely forgotten by the kindliness of the staff. A nice stay in a nice location.

  • Liked — location and friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

La Rochelle is an expensive town to stay in and Hotel de Bordeaux offered quite basic accommodation for around EUR 75 per night. The front reception staff were friendly and helpful but we were checked into a TINY room right at the top of the main flight of stairs between the cleaners' cupboards. The cleaners started work at around 8am and clanged around very loudly, waking us up each morning.
On two of our three days, we were told that the cleaners would not clean our room because we were leaving it too late (we left around 11:15am) despite the information leaflet stating rooms would be cleaned up until 12:30 pm.
The room was also very small, two people and two suitcases was far too much of a squeeze to be comfortable.
Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank C1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We stayed at the hotel as part of a cycling trip round the area. La Rochelle is a gorgeous little town...but as a result of that, hotels are expensive and I struggled to find a hotel in the centre of town within the price range I wanted to pay. Bearing that in mind, the Bordeaux did perfectly well for us. The location is excellent. The street was a bit noisy....but they can't make people be quiet for us!!

It's a very simple hotel, no real frills. Our room was a good size and was very clean. The bathroom was small...but also clean. Yes the walls were thin, but not badly so for us. Our room was next to the communal WC so there was some flushing going on...but no more disturbing noises ;)

Breakfast was decent - you could probably get a better breakfast from a cafe in the town, but it was easier for us at the hotel. What was impressive though was the storage facility for bikes. We often struggle for a hotel to find space for our two bikes - the night we stayed, there were 8 bikes booked in, and the hotel staff didn't bat an eyelid.

If we went back to La Rochelle, I'd probably try a different hotel as I suspect we could find better within the price range, but the Bordeaux was absolutely fine.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Just a bit lacklustre.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colleen75
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2007

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights - the staff are perfectly friendly and I would say that the hotel is adequate - after all it's not very expensive and is in the middle of town right beside the port. The downside is that the walls are paperthin and my earplugs came in very useful. The other bizarre thing was that the shower hose did not attach to the wall so you had to do a kind of a balancing procedure to wash your hair!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank colleen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2007

We stayed for a few days in July 2006 during the week of the annual "Franco Folies" concerts. I was staying with friends during the concert days so I can't comment on the noise levels in the hotel during it, but I did notice that at least one of the concert venues was down the block from the hotel and that the concerts ran past 11PM.

Pros: Location, location, location. Can't be beat. Less than a 5 minute walk to the main/interesting part of town. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly (maybe that was because we spoke French?).

Cons: Small rooms, Volume restricted on TV sets so as not to disturb neighbors. Extremely tiny bathroom.

It's not a glamorous hotel by any means, but it suited us just fine.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank beso14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We decided on a long weekend to La Rochelle but never being there before we werent sure what to expect. Searching for a hotel was the first challenge, but after a very amusing broken english response via email when asking for a room availabilty, this was the one for us. If anything it was going to be amusing weekend !!
Hotel itself was okay, bit of a strange layout being the split of two streets, but a very good location. It was very close to the main areas including the harbour. There is no need for car hire or public transport if you are only here for a weekend.

The hotel itself is on a busy street as there's an irish bar yards away which gets packed at weekends with tourists and La Rochelle kids alike, who pour into the street and roll themselves hme so can be noisey - unless you join in the fun!
The rooms are average, bed, bathroom (although there is an option not to go for shared, but why would you?) but are kept very tidy. Even when we put the note on the door to not have the room cleaned when we went for breakfast it still was!
The walls are quite thin, which can be a bit annoying if you are trying to sleep and the people next door want to party all night long!
All in all, it wasnt a bad place, it was what we sort of expected, but as I mentioned before great location and a great price for everything you would want to do in La Rochelle. If we were to go back, we probably would go back here.

  • Liked — Location, Easy Access to the town
  • Disliked — Thin walls!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Andre's Restaurant on seafront for great seafood
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#26 of 49 in La Rochelle
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Yachtman
Le Yachtman
#36 of 49 in La Rochelle
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#28 of 49 in La Rochelle
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#16 of 49 in La Rochelle
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rupella
Hotel Le Rupella
#40 of 49 in La Rochelle
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bord'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bord'O

Property: Hotel Le Bord'O
Address: 43 rue Saint Nicolas, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Bord'O 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 metres from the Old Port and 500 metres from the station, we are delighted to welcome you to our hotel situated in a friendly and pleasant town centre setting in the heart of an area where there is plenty going on.We are just 5 minutes on foot from the Aquarium and the Conference Centre (Espace Encan), and 10 minutes from the hospital and the exhibition centre.We have done some important investments in 2010 to give you a better confort.We're looking forward to welcoming you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Bord'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bordeaux Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing