We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Le Bord'O

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bord'O
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 January 2007

We stayed for a few days in July 2006 during the week of the annual "Franco Folies" concerts. I was staying with friends during the concert days so I can't comment on the noise levels in the hotel during it, but I did notice that at least one of the concert venues was down the block from the hotel and that the concerts ran past 11PM.

Pros: Location, location, location. Can't be beat. Less than a 5 minute walk to the main/interesting part of town. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly (maybe that was because we spoke French?).

Cons: Small rooms, Volume restricted on TV sets so as not to disturb neighbors. Extremely tiny bathroom.

It's not a glamorous hotel by any means, but it suited us just fine.

Stayed July 2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    91
    45
    19
    5
See reviews for
38
87
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We decided on a long weekend to La Rochelle but never being there before we werent sure what to expect. Searching for a hotel was the first challenge, but after a very amusing broken english response via email when asking for a room availabilty, this was the one for us. If anything it was going to be amusing weekend !!
Hotel itself was okay, bit of a strange layout being the split of two streets, but a very good location. It was very close to the main areas including the harbour. There is no need for car hire or public transport if you are only here for a weekend.

The hotel itself is on a busy street as there's an irish bar yards away which gets packed at weekends with tourists and La Rochelle kids alike, who pour into the street and roll themselves hme so can be noisey - unless you join in the fun!
The rooms are average, bed, bathroom (although there is an option not to go for shared, but why would you?) but are kept very tidy. Even when we put the note on the door to not have the room cleaned when we went for breakfast it still was!
The walls are quite thin, which can be a bit annoying if you are trying to sleep and the people next door want to party all night long!
All in all, it wasnt a bad place, it was what we sort of expected, but as I mentioned before great location and a great price for everything you would want to do in La Rochelle. If we were to go back, we probably would go back here.

  • Liked — Location, Easy Access to the town
  • Disliked — Thin walls!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Andre's Restaurant on seafront for great seafood
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2006

We stayed here at the end of May 06 and were pleasantly surprised - as it was around a French bank holiday weekend almost everywhere else was full and as it was a good deal cheaper than most other places i was a bit worried! Thankfully my fears were unfounded! The hotel is clean, bright and tastefully decorated, but as others have mentioned there is no lift and the bathroom in our room was, er, "cosy"! The location is absolutlely superb with loads of restaurants, bars and cafes within 2 mins walking distance. However, one drawback to the location is the parking... it's on a pedestrian street and the surrounding streets are very narrow, mostly one way with pay and display parking. There were no hotel spaces available during our stay and we did have some difficulties finding a space, then having to feed the meter twice a day. It's 500m from the train station. (it should be noted that most of the other hotels in La Rochelle face a similar parking problem)

Breakfast was acceptable with unlimited refills of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, and €6 seemed to be around the norm for all the cafes in the area. All in all I would rate this hotel highly if you are travelling on a budget, as it is clean, bright and right in the heart of the old part of the town. However, I did find it a little noisy, both with traffic noise and other residents. The lack of a lift and the limited parking would also discourage me from recommending it to people who have mobility problems or young children. But for young couples like us it is great!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2006

We stayed at this hotel from 6th May to 10th May 2006 and were very pleased with its location . One of the receptionist's, {I think her name is Theresa} has very good English and from booking by email to arrival day was more than helpful.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and is colourful throughout. It is small and cramped however {as with most accomadation in France at this price range{ 2 star hotels} to be fair}.There is no lift, so being on the 3rd floor required a climb of steep narrow stairs. Entering the bedroom you will note is small but spotless and as if the bedroom was not small enough, the bathroom is extremely cramped {which didn't do big fellas like me any favours}, however the convenient location made up for the cramped conditions. A daily towel change and cleaning of the room was a welcome surprise.

Opposite a typical French restaurant "Chez Fred" which is worth an evening meal {but know your French menus and I hope you can read French writing} this hotel is a 10 minute walk to the fantastic aquarium and 10 minutes the other way down the back streets brings you into the heart of the port with all restaurants and pubs galore.

All in all for a short stay in La Rochelle this hotel is ideal.

8 out of 10. We will be back.

"Bon voyage et Merci Beaucoup"

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2005

We looked into this hotel purely out of curiosity -- we'd thought about booking it, but ended up booking the Ibis instead. The hotel is down a very quiet side-street, opposite "A Cote de Chez Fred", one of the top La Rochelle restaurants, and very near the old port and the aquarium. A perfect location really. The receptionist was very friendly, and happily showed us a room. The common parts of the hotel were brightly painted and clean. The room, however, was a little small, with a very cramped bathroom.

For a short, cheap stay in La Rochelle, however, this hotel would be as good a choice as the Ibis.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#25 of 49 in La Rochelle
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Yachtman
Le Yachtman
#35 of 49 in La Rochelle
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rupella
Hotel Le Rupella
#40 of 49 in La Rochelle
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#30 of 49 in La Rochelle
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#16 of 49 in La Rochelle
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bord'O

Property: Hotel Le Bord'O
Address: 43 rue Saint Nicolas, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Bord'O 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 metres from the Old Port and 500 metres from the station, we are delighted to welcome you to our hotel situated in a friendly and pleasant town centre setting in the heart of an area where there is plenty going on.We are just 5 minutes on foot from the Aquarium and the Conference Centre (Espace Encan), and 10 minutes from the hospital and the exhibition centre.We have done some important investments in 2010 to give you a better confort.We're looking forward to welcoming you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Bord'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bordeaux Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing