We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better location or value.”
Review of Hotel De Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Paris
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As the sun was setting, we found ourselves in a pinch in La Rochelle, with no room reservation. I had written down the information for Hotel de Paris prior to our trip, in case we couldn't find a B&B. We were warmly greeted at Hotel de Paris and were invited to see the room before we made a decision. Chambre 3 is on the first floor, just one flight up. Converted from two rooms, the space is huge, complete with a sitting area, two TVs and a desk in an alcove, as well as an en suite bath. The room was spotless and, despite facing a bustling street, was quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There also is a small courtyard that we were welcome to use. The location is great, very close to all the sites and shopping and a block from La Rochelle's covered market. We had to walk around eight blocks to find a place to eat dinner, maybe because it was a Monday night in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ask for room No. 3. We were told it is one of the larger rooms. You may want to forego the hotel bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Right in the heart of the lovely La Rochelle, Hotel de Paris is an old fashioned, good value hotel with typical rooms and breakfast. We booked a family room which was functional and perfectly fine. Some rooms had balconies (ours didn't) and be warned there is no a/c so windows open in noisy city is required. That aside, would probably use again, if only for location.
NB. Park in the underground , very nearby public car park first. There is nowhere to pull up outside hotel, especially on market day!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This Hotel is situated right in the centre of La Rochelle, 2 minutes from the bus station and the busy market. Our room was simply furnished with a modern ensuite and a lovely little balcony overlooking the central courtyard. Staff are friendly and the room was spotlessly clean. We liked it so much we returned here for our last night in La Rochelle after a tour of the area.

Room Tip: I dont think all the room have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMcAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The very central location in this beautiful city is a major plus for this hotel, that and the price of course. Room 8 was mid size, on ground floor and clean, only fault was a musty damp smell. Reception staff was very friendly and very helpful the next morning taking in our cases to allow us roam the city. If you are looking for a cheap room, no frills, to use as a base to visit La Rochelle then this is it.

The market is within 20metres, wednesday morning is the big market and well worth a visit. Corrigans Irish Bar is just around the corner and gave us great value, Super staff under manager Barry Murphy, a good man to share his whiskey too. Great valu resteraunt straight across from Corrigans, Le Soliel sur tout le monde or something like that. No menu, only one dish of the day, different one each day, pre booking required because it filled up every night we were there.

We used this hotel on the return part of our trip, it suited us as centrally located, €60 for the night and €14 next day for taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is in the city centre. We received a warm welcome and we stayed in Room 1 which is at the top of the stairs on the first floor. This meant that we heard all those using the stairs. The noise levels were not acceptable and appeared to result partly from the floor surfaces, partly from the wafer thin walls and partly from other guests not talking or closing doors quietly, particularly late in the evening and early in the morning. The room price was reasonable (78 eur plus 2 eur tax).

Room Tip: Room at the very back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBrissle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We discovered this hotel quite by accident; the hotel isn't much to look at but it is in the centre of town, close to secure indoor parking garage that lets you park overnight for about 7 Euros. La Rochelle is a very interesting town, close to Ile de Re, which takes a whole day to tour, so we stayed at the hotel for two nights. Do not take breakfast at the hotel, it will save you 8 Euros per person and you can just go across the street to a little pastry/coffee shop and get much better coffee and pastry/croissant at a lower price. Although we were disappointed when we first saw the hotel, we were really pleased with the comfort of the beds, the cleanliness, and the friendly and helpful staff. It is excellent value for money at 65 Euros per night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMCj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

As other reviews have noted (but I had missed them before I booked the hotel), there is no elevator -- and the top floor rooms are a bit of a trek with luggage. There is also no air conditioning -- which is something not wholly unexpected -- but the hotel doesn't even have fans to place in the rooms during the warmer days of the year (somewhat cruelly, the reading lights mounted on the walls are made to look like fans). And if they did, there would be no place to plug them in other than the outlet for the television (or in the bathroom).

On the positive side, the location is terrific (within one block of the Place Verdun, and one block from the market). And the hotel staff was very nice.

In all, fair value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPD_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Henri IV Hotel
Henri IV Hotel
#46 of 49 in La Rochelle
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#23 of 49 in La Rochelle
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Rupella
Hotel Le Rupella
#40 of 49 in La Rochelle
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bord'O
Hotel Le Bord'O
#31 of 49 in La Rochelle
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Altica La Rochelle
Hotel Altica La Rochelle
#22 of 49 in La Rochelle
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
#14 of 49 in La Rochelle
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris

Address: 18 rue Gargoulleau, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in the historical center of La Rochelle Welcome to the Hotel de Paris in La Rochelle, a 5 minute walk from the old harbour and maritime city opposite the garden of the New World museum. The hotel, boasting a relaxing family ambiance, is the perfect venue for a family holiday, a weekend break with friends or a business trip in La Rochelle in Charente Maritime. The hotel offers peaceful, comfortable rooms some of which have a balcony and a view over the inner garden. A boutique hotel ideal for a great holiday in the historic center ! Discover La Rochelle ! Thanks to the nearby car park (2 mins), you can park your car and walk to the main tourist attractions. Departing from the hotel, discover the old harbour, the famous towers of La Rochelle, the historic monuments and cultural heritage in the town. As for leisure, La Concurrence beach is situated just 15 minutes from the hotel where you can enjoy swimming and watersports. And if it takes your fancy, you can take a boat trip around Fort Boyard or the islands in Charente Maritime.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing