We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay if visiting La Rochelle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Masqhotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay if visiting La Rochelle”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Having been in La Rochelle to visit the brillian aquarium earlier in the summer with the kids, we decided to return as an anniversary present to ourselves in August.

La Rochelle is a fabulous spot for a short break for 2, lovely way to idle away a few relaxing days and the sun split the stones as an added bonus.

Thanks to the other tripadvisor reviewers for directing us to the Masqhotel. Its a fresh modern hotel located slightly away from the exact centre of the town, but a lovely gentle five minute stroll on the flat to the hub of all activities.

Staff at the hotel were very very friendly and most helpful. We arrived before we could check in, but there was no problem letting us store our luggage or letting us change. Nothing was a problem and staff were cheery and helpful at all times. We didnt breakfast in the hotel so cant comment but the room looked nice

The bedrooms were bright airy and spacious, and decorated in a minimalist style. Rooms were good and big and there was excellent air condtioning. There seems to be excellent sound insulation as well, we didnt hear a murmur by night.

All in all a lovely spot to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat1976Cork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    298
    57
    8
    2
See reviews for
87
398
19
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for one night in La Rochelle. Bright and cheery hotel with lovely staff and secure underground parking. Room was large and airy with a clean travel cot for the baby. Ten minutes walk to the harbour and all of the restaurants etc. Would recommend it as a clean, practical and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have now used this hotel 4 times for short stays, and will cary on using it. Hotel is smart & modern, staff are friendly & helpful and it is situated a short walk from the harbour. I would use the hotel car parking, very secure and gives you peace of mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here recently and found it very modern,exceptionally clean with very helpful reception staff.The room was a little on the small size but that's France.It is a very short walk to the railway station where the bus leaves for Ile de Re which should be visited (but the Airport bus surprisingly does not go from the gare).
It is a 10min stroll to the main harbour and restaurants.
Breakfast was reasonable (but 12€ so no bargain) but there is free wifi and access to computers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for a few nights on our way down through France. It's well located; an easy walk to the main attractions. The car parking was good value and extremely secure. The hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel does not waste the customers' money on fancy reception areas, expensive restaurants etc. Instead you get a very comfortable spotless room and helpful courteous staff, with one exception. Unfortunately one day of our stay was spoilt when the electricity in our room failed several times late at night because of a faulty kettle and the response by the duty receptionist was absolutely pathetic. Because of this poor service I don't feel that I can rate this hotel as excellent. However we were impressed by the response to our complaint by the manager when we saw her the next morning.In every other respect the hotel couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here en route to Bilbao and couldn't have been happier. Reception staff were very friendly and the room was spacious and clean. The wifi was a bit hit and miss but then I've never been in a hotel that didn't have patchy wifi! So location wise it's about a ten min walk to the main town but it's a pleasant walk past the harbour and old town. It's away from the main drag but this is a good thing as it can get busy down there. Breakfast was extra but well worth the money. Lots of fresh fruit and buns and nice bacon and scrambled eggs. A nice touch was the addition of local cheeses, cakes and yoghurts! Ignore the bad reviews on here. This hotel was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#4 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
0.4 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#6 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Masqhotel

Property: Best Western Masqhotel
Address: 17 Rue De L'Ouvrage A Cornes, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#7 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing