We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Masqhotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Spent a week here en famille in mid-August, an enjoyable stay but although it is a good hotel we think it's nearer 3 than 4 stars (despite the French Tourist Board awarding it 4!)

PLUSES:
When you really need a good start to the day and cannot be bothered walking to a café the hotel breakfast - even at 12 euros - represents good value.
Pleasant and hard-working staff in breakfast area, constantly replenishing food and drink & looking after guests
Hotel maids did a great job tidying our rooms, thank you.
Very comfortable beds

"AREAS TO IMPROVE":
Do not advertise services that you do not provide - WiFi in room 329 non-existent and excuses made by reception staff were frustrating to say the least.In this day and age of iPads and Android devices fewer people lug around guide books - spend some money & upgrade your systems or withdraw your advert.
3 utterly useless terminals (constantly crashing/freezing) were provided for guest use in the reception area - so for us WiFi issues remained.Reception staff gave pathetic excuses as to why they did not work.
Inadequate storage space - no wardrobe in room despite there being sufficient space...? We had to live out of our suitcases all week.
Reception staff - although very pleasant - need further training.We found their suggestions/advice ranged from inappropriate to plain incorrect. For example, sending us on a wild goose chase to a hypermarket that was closed when we got there - it had been closed all day as it was a public holiday. We felt they should have known that.
Also, due to circumstances beyond our control we left the hotel for home 4 hours behind schedule so the question was when was the latest ferry from Calais to Dover? And when did services recommence? (We had a 2305 departure booked). "There are lots of companies doing that crossing" - no, there are around 3 - "last ferry 2335 then next is 0645 Sunday" - through contacting friends in the UK we discovered and made the 0120 Sunday departure.
Why put 2 staff who are new to the area on your main desk in the peak holiday month? From Best Western I expect staff to have local insights/tips etc.Also, one of the new recruits cannot be a car driver as he was oblivious of national road traffic issues.
Soulless chillout and bar area (there just to gain the "official" 4 stars?)

We were surprised that "La Part des Anges" was recommended to us for family dining.It is cheap, the food is not that good.We found the service awkward and uncomfortable...altogether an odd experience.

Room swipe cards - which also doubled for access to underground car park - constantly failed.Lost count of the number of times I had to get replacement ones from reception.Frustrating for guests and staff alike.Was told it was caused by them being near to mobile phones - maybe change your swipe card system, mobiles are here to stay?

Location a slight issue as hotel is a brisk 10 minute walk to central area of La Rochelle harbour
(i.e to "Ernest le Glacier" - excellent ice creams)

We enjoyed our stay in La Rochelle very much and addressing the points above would result in a 4 (or at a push 5) star rating.We wouldn't rule out staying again at Masqhotel..but we'd have a good look around elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Avoid room 329 - no WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hove60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masqhotel, Directeur général at Best Western Masqhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your remarks and suggestions with us. I am sorry that your stay did not measure up to your expectations and I highly appreciate that fact that you highlighted the areas where our performance was on spot.
I apologize for the poor WIFI coverage that you experienced. As you noticed, business in France comes to a grinding halt in the middle two weeks of August – which was when our Wi-Fi installation (to be replaced in October) chose to present us with an additional challenge.
I acknowledge that our rooms are big on design and not on storage space. That being said, the average stay in La Rochelle is 1.6 nights and so this is rarely an issue. I have instructed my staff to suggest executive rooms or suites for prolonged visits in order to address this deficiency.
I’m sorry that you went on a wild goose chase – particularly since I was on the desk when you asked about a supermarket. I don’t know where you actually wound up, but the two stores that we indicated as being open had advertised on their websites that they were open on August 15th.
Perhaps the restaurant recommendations were not in line with your taste or budget – what pleases one guest does not necessarily meet the standards of another. Since a family with teen agers had voiced their appreciation of the said restaurant just a week earlier, the receptionist thought that it would be appropriate for you.
If I may, I would, however, question the assertion that a receptionist in La Rochelle should be familiar with the ferry schedules between Calais and the UK. I understand that the unexpected trials prior to your departure were stressful and conceive that certain events can take on additional impact when one is under duress.
If you should decide to return to La Rochelle for a lengthy stay in the future, I would be happy to suggest one or two alternative establishments in the city which I think would better meet your requirements.
Sincerely
Christine Scholten
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights x 2 rooms.
Rooms were a good size with good size beds by French standard.
Quiet.
Good bathroom. No problems.
Good breakfast.
The hotel is close to the train station and the nearby streets are a bit dull. However you are about 6 to 8 minutes walk from the old town and harbour. Mind you we spent most of our time going to the Ile de Re or Ile d'Oleron instead of the town.
The only annoyance was that there's no washing machine on site or indeed none close by which proved to be a real pain.
No pool. Didn't notice a gym either.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank 997M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here and were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms are bright, modern, immaculately clean with tea/coffee making facilities and high-quality, paraben-free shower gel and other toiletry products in the bathroom. Breakfast cost 12 Euros again was of a high quality, with champagne also available as part of the breakfast buffet. The service was great and we could not think of any way in which we could improve the hotel except perhaps for a mini-bar but there is a good room service available so even that isn't vital. The location was quiet which was good for sleeping but the old town was just a few minutes walk away, for all the restaurants and nightlife. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLT75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very modern hotel in a residential/business sector but only about 5 minutes from the harbour. It is a quiet area. The rooms are very nice with great shower room and the hotel is immaculately clean. We paid extra for secure underground parking although you can park in the street. The breakfast was superb and even included champagne! I must confess to having a bucks' fizz for breakfast - great! Very nice, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1379jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a new modern hotel which is very near the port of La Rochelle. It is in a quiet residential/business street so no views from windows. You can park outside hotel although we opted to pay for secure parking under hotel. Rooms were very clean,comfortable and had excellent air conditioning which was great as outside temps were over 30 degrees. Breakfast was very good, we even sampled the complimentary champagne for breakfast. Would stay here again if in area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very central hotel, clean and adequate rooms - not huge, but all you need for a couple of nights. Bathroom fine. Very helpful staff. Car parking is available (at a cost) which is a relief in such a busy area. The old port was just a five minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend booking a car parking slot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have just spent two nights in this hotel. Can't think of anything negative to say. The staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel is well designed and quiet yet only a short stroll to the centre of La Rochelle. Would definitely recommend it and would be happy to stay there again. Another Best Western success.

Room Tip: There's a car park under the hotel so it's worth the €8 charge to use it as the harbour and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Masqhotel

Address: 17 rue de l Ouvrage a Corne, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing